Felipe Ávila da Costa

联合创始人和CEO, 

Infraspeak, 联合创始人和CEO, ​ Founders Founders

 

Behind Business(BB) - 你认为自己是企业家还是商人?

当然是企业家,虽然我认为我必须越来越多地成为一名商人。企业家的概念与创造新事物的意愿有关,这意味着我们甚至可以成为公司内部的企业家(内部创业者),在家中或任何其他地方,而作为商人的概念则更多地与公司的管理者相关。当然,随着时间的推移,企业家自然会随着自己创业项目的增长成为商人。

 

你一直在专注于做自己的项目吗?

当我获得工程硕士学位后,我曾为其他人工作过一段时间。之后,我开始了一个项目,但是进展很不顺利,所以我回去为其他人工作。但是,在这个时候,我已经对这份工作有了短期的考虑:我只是想获得经验和金钱,然后,当机会出现时,我计划做自己的事情,创建我自己的新的解决方案。所以,正如你所知,我最终成了一名企业家,因为我受到了亲近的人的启发,因为我曾经在工程学院学习,在那里我有创造和实验的空间,并有空闲时间去积累一些经验。

你一直在专注于做自己的项目吗?

当我获得工程硕士学位后,我曾为其他人工作过一段时间。之后,我开始了一个项目,但是进展很不顺利,所以我回去为其他人工作。但是,在这个时候,我已经对这份工作有了短期的考虑:我只是想获得经验和金钱,然后,当机会出现时,我计划做自己的事情,创建我自己的新的解决方案。所以,正如你所知,我最终成了一名企业家,因为我受到了亲近的人的启发,因为我曾经在工程学院学习,在那里我有创造和实验的空间,并有空闲时间去积累一些经验。

是谁鼓舞了你?

我从来就不是那种有偶像的人。但是,我可以说,一方面,我从与我亲近的人那里获得灵感,一个是我的父亲。另一方面,我的灵感来源于一些商业世界意外的人,那些为理想而奋斗的人,比如纳尔逊.曼德拉,达赖喇嘛或甘地;那些更专注于存在,而不是生活的人,是最能激励我的人。

“那些更专注于存在,而不是生活的人,是最能激励我的人。”

作为一名企业家,你最大的困难是什么?

 

当我开始我的第一个项目时。这是一个门户/网站,对于那些对网站和/或者Web应用程序开发感兴趣的人,以及想要获得这些网站的可用性的反馈时,我们犯了一个真正的新手所犯的所有错误。我们疯狂地爱上了自己的想法,以至于在开始开发之后的六个月,我们只考虑了商业模式。由于没有关于如何使其成为能够稳定赢利的商业模式的计划,当个人工作提案开始传达给每个团队成员时,团队人数开始不断减少。有一句名言:“没有商业模式的任何项目或创业公司都不 是真正的创业公司,而只是一种爱好。”自然地,当人们开始从事其他专业活动时,该项目就会死亡。之后,我对它失败的原因进行了全面的分析,其中一个主要结论是缺乏足够的经验。

 

然后你又回来开始了另一个项目?

那时我反思了很多关于项目失败的原因。与此同时,我决定组织一个名为Boom的会议,这个会议应该很小,目的是通过我的课程,将那些建立了公司的人聚集在一起,目的是分享错误,失败,经历和成功。没想到,门票一下子就卖光了!我决定将活动推迟一个月,以便我可以在大学里找到更大的教室。我最终将会议安排在波尔图工程学院的大礼堂举行。这次活动是如此成功,在13位发言者中,我收到了其中3位的工作邀请!由于这次幸运的活动,现在我想告诉所有人,如果你想被邀请参加工作,你所能做的最好的事情就是组织一次成功的活动,并邀请想要的雇主 - 如果活动顺利,那就有一个获得工作机会的可能性会很高。这就是我开始在UPTEC工作的方式。即使有其他选择,比如咨询公司,我也更愿意在UPTEC开始工作。

加入UPTEC是您职业生涯的重要一步吗?

是的,我学到了很多东西。实际上,错误是很好的学习机会,特别是从别人的错误中学习。我学到了很多东西,也分享给别人,这是非常充实的经历。在这样的环境中度过五年,也是葡萄牙创业活动的关键时期,目睹孵化的初创公司数量呈指数增长......这是一次丰富的经历。在此期间,我理解并支持生态系统,并需要接触投资者,需要成为导师,等等。然后,我让UPTEC专注于Infraspeak。一年后,我与其他四位合伙人一起创办了Founders Founders。

Dark Roofs Housing Complex

Dark Roofs Housing Complex

Boston

Boston

Curved Window

Curved Window

Modern Luxury Home

Modern Luxury Home

High Contrast Staircase

High Contrast Staircase

Abstract Architecture

Abstract Architecture

Yellow Stairs

Yellow Stairs

Yellow Frame Windows

Yellow Frame Windows

Home Decoration Lighting

Home Decoration Lighting

Modern Luxury Home

Modern Luxury Home

Paved Terrace

Paved Terrace

然后Infraspeak从那里开始。

是的,我与路易斯合作进行一个项目,并最终有了Infraspeak。这是一个很大的挑战。最初的步骤是最复杂的,因为需要首先了解市场需求。

因此,如果不是犹豫Talks 2.0活动,那么你就不会进入UPTEC,而你也不会创建Infraspeak。 

这不仅仅是由于那次会议,因为我相信一切都是相互关联的:如果我在第一个项目中没有失败,在我的第一次尝试时,我可能就不会参加那次活动,也没有机会在UPTEC工作。所有步骤都是相互关联的,因此,所有步骤都是这条路径的一部分。

Founders Founders 是孵化器还是加速器?

这很难定义,但它是一个规模扩大的孵化器,这些公司已经具有销售结构,并拥有一系列客户,但我们更愿意称之为社区。

你做过的最勇敢的事是什么?

我认为每个选择创业生活的人都很勇敢,特别是当你已经知道它意味着什么的时候。它总是存在着很多风险。存在许多与之相关的不确定性,但我们总是根据可以预知的风险采取行动。企业家精神的美妙之处在于,对于所有好的实践和建议获得了成功,但也总有几个例子表明,有人做了相反的事情并最终取得了成功。

你有一个典型的工作日吗?

(展示了他的笔记本,上面有各种草图,任务列表,其中很多涂改的痕迹)正如你所看到的,我没有。在目前,我最常见的的工作是给予人们权力,为他们提供良好的工作空间。今天我的大部分时间都花在解决问题上,扫除我们的员工在工作中的障碍障碍。在开拓新市场和确定应对该市场的战略时,就是另一回事了。我一天中唯一的典型事情是不断优化芯片,以及在不同主题间切换,要么考虑明天给客户的演示,要么启动产品的新功能,甚至讨论新的功能发布计划......所以,不断优化芯片和设定公司的工作节奏 - 这些是我认为是这里唯一的常数。在Infraspeak中,我们经常说“这必须是一个管弦乐队:每个人都是他们所在领域的专家,但音乐必须和谐地融合在一起。”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

你如何定义成功?

成功有几种类型...我们已经达到了其中一些。第一个层面是,能够成为该领域的旗舰公司,在全球拥有强大的影响力,最好的结果将是我们客户的成功和我们团队的成功......我们在公司里有一个座右铭,是“成为美好生活的源泉”。我和我的伙伴向第一批加入公司的同事出售了这个“梦想”。我们肩负着这种负担,我们必须尽最大努力实现这个梦想,才不会辜负我们团队为之做出的巨大贡献。同时,成功也来源于向客户,员工和家人传递承诺 - 他们也做了很多工作来让这一切变成现实。当有一天到达终点时,我们希望能够感受到,对所有这些人来说,我们所经历的一切都是值得的, 这将是我们最重要的成功。以及,所有这一切的副产物,财务上的成功。但是,我认为这部分是做其他事的一种方式,例如,能够帮助更多的企业家,投资更多的公司,并帮助Founders Founders成长。

在您取得的各种成功中,您最欣赏的是哪一个?

公司让我最欣赏的地方在于,因为我认为这是一项伟大的成就 - 那就是公司的文化。它是随着时间的推移而建立的,包括几个小部分的总和。例如,我们员工的简介。又例如,我们有庆祝小的成功的文化;对于每一位新客户,我们都会在我们的啤酒墙上庆祝,并且在那里喝啤酒。将这些小的部分加和起来,就会有显著的不同。以及,我们的里程碑,例如第一个客户,获得客户的好评,新市场中的第一个客户,第一轮和第二轮投资等等。总有一系列的小事件,总而言之,它们让公司有了今天。

你如何处理不确定性?

在管理者的层面上,它比较容易:你进行预测练习,设想可能的情况,并为每种情况制定计划。但在人的层面上则变得更加复杂,因为背后没有单一的理论。在我看来,是看到事物的积极方面并继续前进。在这个过程中,我们将调整自己,并根据预估来行动。管理不确定性的最佳方法是始终在移动中,这种不确定性在今生的各个层面都是不变的。当然,拥有合适的团队也很重要。

你认为这个世界在20年会发生什么变化?

任何这样的练习都是纯粹的未来主义。我有一位MBA的教授,他说他在为公司做预测时,通常会做3年,5年或10年,我们需要把重点放在那些已经启航的公司上,而不是“那些尚未启动的列车”。按照这种推理,并“分析已经启动的列车”,将会有更多的技术和社会问题。世界将面临技术方面的许多挑战,例如在电力部门,需求无疑会增长,伴随着移动,自动化(工业和服务行业),农业和粮食生产(包括实验室食品)等领域,向更高效的方向发展。当今,社会问题方面将面临许多挑战:我预见不平等现象会增加 - 拥有大量资源的人数会减少,而且人工智能和自动化程度的提高将会进一步影响人力资源。因此,社会冲突的风险会增加。一个难题在于:技术的发展让世界变得更精彩,包括人力资源方面 -所谓的gig经济,人们为短期项目工作,而不是有长期的承诺,但这个不平等的世界并不会伴随着社会层面的变化和改善。它可能存在重大的社会风险,但我倾向于积极地去看待这个问题,所以我认为尽管如此,面对所有的挑战,世界将继续适应。我最近有了一个女儿,希望她仍然能够体验这个精彩的世界。

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Behind Business  (BB) - Do you see yourself as an entrepreneur or as a businessman?


Felipe - Do you see yourself as an entrepreneur or as a businessman?
Certainly as an entrepreneur, although I think that I will have to become a businessman more and more. The concept of an entrepreneur is associated with the willingness to create new things, meaning that we can even be entrepreneurs inside the company (the intrapreneurs), inside our house or in any other place, whereas the concept of being a businessman is much more associated to a manager of a company. Of course that, when the goes by, entrepreneurs naturally converge to become businessman/businesswoman alongside with the startup growth.

Have you ever had the entrepreneurial spirit or do you think you have developed it?

Being an entrepreneur is like being creative. There are people born with a higher predisposition to become entrepreneurs, but I think everyone can learn to become it, with more or less effort. In my case, I was inspired by people in my family, friends and friends of my family - my father for example, and my godfather, they all were, in some way, my inspiration. Furthermore, since I worked towards the technological area since my background is in computer engineering, I started experimenting in the early days of the college, beginning some projects there, such as the college’s computer graphics group... so it seems like it was a natural path for me.

Have you always been working on your own projects?

When I finished my master in engineering, I worked for others, for companies, for a while. Then, I started a project, but it did not go well, so I went back to work for others. But, at this time, I was already having a short-term perspective about that job; I just wanted to gain experience and money, and then, when the opportunity appears, I planned to do my own stuff, to create my own new solutions. So, as you can tell, in my case I became an entrepreneur because I was being inspired by people close to me and because I was studying at the engineering college, where I had space to create and experiment, and spare time to spend on those experiences.

Who inspires you?

I've never been the type of person that has idols. However, I can say that, on the one hand, I get inspiration from people that are close to me, one being my father. I have, on the other hand, sources of inspiration from personalities outside the business world, people who have fought for ideals more significant than themselves, such as Nelson Mandela, Dalai Lama or Gandhi; people that are more focused on the being rather than on the having, are the ones that inspire me the most..

"People that are more focused on the being rather than on the having, are the ones that inspire me the most."

What were your most significant difficulties as an entrepreneur?

When I started my first project which was a portal/website for people interested in websites and/or web applications development, and who wanted to get and give back feedback on the usability of those websites, we made all the mistakes that a real newbie makes. We fell in love with our own idea to start with, and we only thought about the business model six months after we started developing it. As there was not a plan on how to make it a profitable business, the team began to slit when the individual job proposals began to arrive at every single team member. There is a famous sentence that says "Any project or startup without a business model is not a startup, it's a hobby." Naturally, when people started having other professional activities, the project died. Afterwards, I made an extensive analysis of why it had failed, and one of the main conclusions was the lack of experience.

And then you came back with another project?

I reflected a lot about the reasons why the project had failed. In the meantime, I've decided to organise a conference, called Boom, which was supposed to be small, with the idea of ​​bringing together people from my course who had set up companies with the objective of sharing mistakes, failures, experiences and successes. Unexpectedly, the tickets were sold out! I made the decision to postpone the event for one month so that I could get a bigger room with the university. I ended up getting the main auditorium of the Porto’s engineering school. The event was such a success that out of the 13 speakers, I received a job proposal from 3 of them! Because of that lucky sequence of events, nowadays I say to everyone that if you want to be invited for a job, the best you can do is to organise a successful event and inviting the desired employers - if the event goes well, there is a high probability of receiving a job offer. And that's how I started working at UPTEC. Even having other options, like consulting, I preferred to start working at UPTEC.

Was joining UPTEC a big step in your career?

Yes, I learned a lot. Actually, mistakes are excellent to learn, but it is always better to learn from others' mistakes. I was exposed to many things, I learned, and I taught; it was very enriching. Spending five years in that environment, an essential time for entrepreneurship in Portugal, to see the number of startups incubated to grow exponentially... It was an enriching experience. During that period, I understood and supported the ecosystem, had to reach out to investors, had to be a mentor, and so on. Then, I left UPTEC to focus on Infraspeak. A year later, I was working together with four other entrepreneurs to start Founders Founders.

Dark Roofs Housing Complex

Dark Roofs Housing Complex

Boston

Boston

Curved Window

Curved Window

Modern Luxury Home

Modern Luxury Home

High Contrast Staircase

High Contrast Staircase

Abstract Architecture

Abstract Architecture

Yellow Stairs

Yellow Stairs

Yellow Frame Windows

Yellow Frame Windows

Home Decoration Lighting

Home Decoration Lighting

Modern Luxury Home

Modern Luxury Home

Paved Terrace

Paved Terrace

Then Infraspeak starts from there.

Yes, I partnered with Luis and we started working on the project that would become Infraspeak. It was a great challenge. The initial steps are the most complicated because it is necessary to first understand the market needs.

So if it were not for the Talks 2.0 event, you would not have made it to UPTEC, and you would not have founded Infraspeak.

It was not only due to the conference, as I believe everything is interconnected: if I had not failed in the first project, in my first attempt, I might not have made the event and had not had the opportunity to work at UPTEC. All the steps are interconnected and, therefore, everything is part of a path.

Is FoundersFounders an incubator or accelerator?

It is difficult to define but it is an incubator of scale-ups, companies already with the structure of sales, with a portfolio of clients, but we prefer to call it a community.

What was the bravest thing you ever did?

I think everyone who gets themselves into this entrepreneurial life is already courageous, especially when you already know what it implies. There is always a lot of risks involved. There are many associated uncertainties, but we always try to take the approach of only taking calculated risks. The beauty of entrepreneurship is that for all good practices and recommendation given, and that worked, there are always several examples of who did the opposite and ended up being successful.

Do you have a typical working day?

(shows his notebook written, scribbled, with bullet points of tasks, many of them already scratched) As you can see, I do not have that. My usual job these days is empowering people, giving them room to do their job well. So much of my time today is spent removing things out of the way, taking barriers out of employees path. When it comes to opening new markets and to define the strategy to tackle that market, that is another story. The only typical thing in my day is to be always changing the chip, going between topic to topic, either be thinking about the tomorrow’s presentation for the customer or launching a new functionality of the product or even discussing the new feature launch plan… So, constantly changing the chip and setting the work pace of the company - these are what I consider to be the only constants here. In Infraspeak we often say that "This has to be an orchestra: everyone is a specialist in their area, but the music must sound well together, in harmony."

How do you define success?

There are several types of success.. and we have already reached some of them. The first level would be to be able to become a reference company in the field, have a strong presence worldwide and the best outcome would be the success of our customers and the success of our team... We have a motto in the company which is "Be the source of a good life." My partner and I sold a “dream” to the first people who joined the company. We have this burden on our shoulders, and we must do our best to that dream, to which our team contributed immensely. Much of the success is to deliver the promises to the customers, employees and family - who have also done a lot to make all this happen. When reaching the end, someday, we would like to be able to feel that everything we went through was worth it, for all these people - this would be our most significant success. Then, there is the side effect of all this, the financial success. However, I see this part as a way to do other things, to be able, for example, to help more entrepreneurs, to invest in more companies and to help Founders Founders.

Of the various successes you have achieved, which one do you most appreciate now looking back?

There is one thing in the company I really appreciate, as I think it is a great achievement - the company’s culture. It was built over time with the sum of several small parts, such as the profile of the people we hired. For example, we have the culture of celebrating small victories; for every new customer, we celebrate as a team, in our beer wall, where we drink a craft beer. There are several little things that, added up, they totally make the difference. Then, there are the milestones, such as the first customer, obtaining a reference customer, the first customer in a new market, the first and second round of investment, and so on. There are always a series of small events that, all summed, they made what the company is today.

How do you manage uncertainty?

At manager level, it's relatively easy: it's doing projection exercises and preparing scenarios and making plans for each situation. The level of the person is already more complicated because there is no single theory behind it. I'd say it's trying to look at the positive side of things and keep going. As we walk, we will adapt ourselves and take calculated steps. The best way to manage uncertainty, which is constant at all levels in this life, is to be always on the move. And, of course,  have the right team.

How do you see the world 20 years from now?

Any such exercise is pure futurism. I had a professor in the MBA who says that when making projections for the company, which are usually done for 3, 5 or 10 years, we need to put our focus on the ones that have already left, not on “the trains that haven't departed yet”. Following this reasoning, and “analysing the trains that have already departed", there will be many more technological and social issues. The world is going to face lots of challenges in terms of technology, for example in the electrical sector, which will undoubtedly grow, alongside with the area of ​​autonomy and mobility, automation, both industrial and services, as well as the agriculture and food production (including the food in laboratory), towards higher efficiency. Now, concerning social issues, there will be many challenges: I foresee inequalities increasing - there will be fewer people with lots of resources and many more with less. This will be further affected by the arriving of artificial intelligence and automation. Thus, there is an increased risk of more social conflicts. It will be a dilemma: an exciting world due to technological developments, including in the employment field - with the so-called gig economy where people work for short-term projects instead of having long commitments, but a very unequal world it is not accompanied by changes and improvements at a social level. There may be significant social risks, but I tend to be positive, so I think that despite all this, of all the challenges, the world will continue to adapt. I, who had a daughter recently, hope she will still have a cool world to live in.

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.