Behind Business  (BB) - 在成为企业家,创造了自己的产品之后,你觉得你是超级企业家还是超级工程师?


Michaël - 事实上,至少在一开始,工程部分至关重要,但企业家精神必须一直坚持下去。工程部分你不可能袖手旁观,同时,它可能是创建产品并且未正确验证它的陷阱,因此务必首先验证它并且不断改进。因此,首先是企业家,最后是工程师 - 有时我依然在工程师的角色发挥着最大的作用。总而言之:让它实现,让它变得更好,让它变得便宜。

你成为企业家多长时间了?​

噢,它发生在Asterix公司的故事中 - 我在一个偶然的机会加入了它。10年前,我的一位朋友邀请我成为葡萄牙远程信息处理领域公司的联合创始人。我们将公司经营和发展了8年,之后我们把它出售了。

所以你已经成功退出了!

好吧,是的......不算成功,但毕竟是退出了。一旦你这样做了,你一定会倾向于再次尝试。如果你有足够的资源,那么你将获得在其他地方无法找到的自由。这就是我开始自己的另一个项目的原因。

你之前在其他公司工作过吗?

 

是的。我在一家公司工作,但在金融危机期间,公司解雇了许多人,我的合同在那时也被中止了。所以,我是被送走的“幸运”的人之一。后来,在失业3个月后,突然有了这个创始人的机会,于是我接受了。

 

“有时,你仍然需要自己亲自体验失败,感受它并从中学到一些东西。”

你觉得,抓住这个机会让你的人生变得更好还是更糟?

嗯......我觉得这取决于你怎样看待它。一开始,它永远不会变得更好。你必须从长远来看;你必须记住,一夜之间的成功很可能需要10年的努力来实现。伟大的企业家让它看起来比实际更容易。当你阅读新闻时,你只能找到那些成功的例子,这就是为什么我喜欢那个名为Fuckup Nights的项目,在那里我们可以欣然接受失败并从中吸取教训。当然,我们很难从别人的失败中吸取教训,但至少你可以学会更早地做好准备。有时,你仍然需要自己亲自体验失败,感受它并从中学到一些东西。

 

您从中学到最多的一次失败是什么?

嗯......这是一个很难的问题......也许我还没有失败那么多次。

 

甚至没有那些无聊的想法,比如“或许我应该做其他的事”?

当然!每天如此!即使你成功了,你也可能去想或许你应该做一些不同的事,而且或许,它们能够更早地让你成功。

 

那么,到目前为止你最大的教训是什么?

 

我会说找到合适的人来与你合作的重要性。这是我迄今为止最重要的结论之一。

 

 

那么,独立的企业家是不存在的吗?​​

起初,我尝试与一个我认为合适的人合作。我犯了一个错误,就是对时间,想法,动力过度热衷,但是我忽略了适当的尽职调查。我希望有一种更简单的方法可以找到合适的人与你合作。总体来说,你必须在正确的时间和地点开始。起初,你专注于快速开发产品,以免失去动力,但其他事情也必须完成,而找到合适的人就是其中之一。在你开始之后再让他人参与进来也很困难。要放弃所有权,并让人们适当地参与其中是很困难的。

Kettle on Gas Stove

Kettle on Gas Stove

Engineering Sketch

Engineering Sketch

Pot on Gas Burner

Pot on Gas Burner

Gas Management

Gas Management

Chemical Plant

Chemical Plant

Gas Managment_1

Gas Managment_1

你是怎样产生这些想法的?你有没有按照一个流程去做?

我认为产生这些创新的想法并没有一个明确的过程。就我而言,它是几件事的结果。三年前,我与一家大型葡萄牙酿酒集团进行了商务会谈,当时我是一家瑞士公司的顾问 - 你看,它和我目前正在做的事情并没有什么联系。他们正在寻找一种方法,来减少不锈钢啤酒桶的损耗。他们试图通过技术来减少这方面的损失。当时,我想出了一个运用物联网的技术解决的方案,但那时这个技术还不成熟。与此同时,一些公司开始做这样的事(动力的来源......)于是,我开始研究在如何将同样的技术应用于其他行业。再后来,我将同样的原理和技术应用于天然气行业。

在葡萄牙,有多少人可能会受到您的解决方案的影响?

如果我们看一下统计数据,并根据我的商业模式,即帮助瓶装天然气市场中的小型企业提供差异化​​服务,那么将有50万个家庭受到影响。从商业角度来看,它仍然是一个良好的市场和业务,每年的市场价值估计在650万欧元。但是,与此同时,我不想做一些只为大公司赚钱的事情;我想创造以最终消费者为核心的产品,这是人们关心的事情。我的目的事解决一个让很多人烦恼的问题,而我很高兴能用我的只是解决它。据我所知,我创造了一种可以让人们的生活更舒适的产品。

你如何处理不确定性?

我并不去直接处理它,因为我总是可以尝试降低风险......但如果你创办公司,你会发现风险无处不在。因此,如果你不愿意接受最低风险阈值,请不要这样做。对于我来说,我可以将我的钱存入银行,而不是试图建立这个项目,但我决定试一试。我不想再20年后再回头去看,并说:“当时我应该去尝试”。我不想在以后后悔。

你做过的最困难的决定是什么?

目前来说还没有什么是最困难的。但是...我会说,如果我现在不得不放弃我的项目,这将是一个极为重要的决定,对我来说真的很难,毕竟只有这一次。

企业家应该拥有什么样的价值才能获得成功?

弹性/ 灵活性。这是第一位的。如果你很幸运,你会很快获得成功,但你不会学到很多东西;如果你看看其他企业家,可能他们首先没有取得成功,或者失败很多次。从中你会明白企业家需要有很大的弹性,让自己能够从灰烬中振作起来。

对于那些想要像你一样创业的人,你有什么建议?

 

不要自己这样做。与其他能够帮助、支持你的人一起来做;那些能够弥补你的弱点,技能互补的人。独立创业真的很难。实际上,投资人说他们最关注的是三件事:团队,团队,团队。

您如何看待这个世界在今后10年的变化?

它必须是一个更好的地方!科技可以帮助它变得更好。不幸的是,我们总是用“空玻璃方法”来思考和看待它。相反,我们应该依靠人的方面来充分利用它,来帮助我们。我看到了这样的趋势:人们越来越关注我们的世界,我们正在用技术做些什么,并愿意为世界问题寻找解决方案。如果你看看世界平均生活质量的统计数据,尽管媒体总有关于污染,世界人口增长,世界某些地区的贫困的一些坏消息坏消息,但总体来说我们的社会也有了很大改善。只要不破坏地球,我们应该安然无恙。

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Behind Business  (BB) - After all this time being an entrepreneur, building your own product, would you say that you are a super entrepreneur or a super engineer?


Michaël - The truth is, at the beginning at least, the engineering part takes the best of you but the entrepreneurship has to take over. It is hard to let go of the engineering side. At the same time, it can be a trap to create a product and not validate it properly so learn that you should validate it first and then enhance it. Therefore, entrepreneurship first and engineer last - sometimes the engineer still gets the best out of me. To summarize: make it work, make it nice, make it cheap.

 

How long have you been an entrepreneur?

Well, it happened like in the Asterix story - I fell into it by accident.  Basically, a friend of mine invited me to be the co-founder of a company in the telematics field in Portugal, around 10 years ago. We grew the company for 8 years, then we sold it.

So you have already a successful exit!

Well, yes... a weak one but it was an exit, nonetheless. Once you do it, you tend to try to make it again. If you have the resources to do it, you will have the freedom that you don't find elsewhere. That is why I started another project of my own.

Were you working in a company before that?

Yes. I was working in a company but during the financial crisis the company laid off many people and my contract was ending at that moment. So, I was one of the “lucky” ones that were sent away. Then, after being unemployed for 3 months, this opportunity of being co-founder suddenly happened and I took it.

"Sometimes, you should fail by yourself to feel it and to learn properly."

Would you say that, by taking that opportunity, your life changed for the better or for the worse?

Well…  it depends on what you're looking at, I’d say. In the beginning, it’s never for the better. You have to think in the long run; you must remember that every overnight success takes 10 years to build. Great entrepreneurs make it look easier than it really is. When you read the press, you can only find the ones that are succeeding and that’s why I like that project called Fuckup Nights, where we can celebrate the failures and take lessons from it. Of course that it is difficult to learn from others failures, but at least you can learn to signals earlier. Sometimes, you should still fail by yourself to feel it and to learn properly.

What was the failure from which you learned the most?

Humm... it's a hard one…..  maybe I haven't failed that much yet.

Not even that boring thoughts like “I should probably have done that instead”?

Of course! Everyday! Even if you succeed there could be something that you could have done differently and, who knows, could have helped to succeed earlier.

What was your biggest lesson so far, then?

I would say the importance of finding the right people to work with you. This is one of my conclusions so far.

So, no more solo entrepreneur?

Initially, I gave it a try with someone that I thought it was okay. I made the mistake of getting too much enthusiastic about the timing, the idea, the momentum, and I neglected proper due diligence. I wish there was an easier method to find the right people to work with you. It seems that you have to be in the right place at the right time. In the beginning, you are focused on quickly develop your product to not lose the momentum but other things must be done as well, and finding the right people is one of them. It’s can also be quite challenging to bring someone after you started. It’s both hard to give away ownership and bring people properly on board.

Kettle on Gas Stove

Kettle on Gas Stove

Engineering Sketch

Engineering Sketch

Pot on Gas Burner

Pot on Gas Burner

Gas Management

Gas Management

Chemical Plant

Chemical Plant

Gas Managment_1

Gas Managment_1

How did your idea come up? Did you follow a process to get to it?

 

I don’t think there is a clear process to come up with innovative ideas. In my case, It was a mix of several things. Three years ago I had a business meeting with a large Portuguese brewery group, while I was a consultant for a Swiss company - nothing to do about what I am doing now, as you see. They were looking for a way to reduce the losses at their stainless steel beer kegs. They were trying to find a technological way to reduce that loss. I came up with a tech solution with IoT, but the technology was not ready yet, at that time. Meanwhile, some companies started doing that (see, momentum...) so I started to investigate where could I apply the same principle to other industry. And here I am, applying the same kind of principle to the gas industry.

How many people would be impacted, potentially, with your solution, in Portugal?

 

If we take a look to the statistics, and according to my business model, which is looking for to help smalls players in the bottled gas market to provide a differentiated service, half million families would be impacted. Business wise, it is still a good market and a good business, being the market value 650M€ per year. But, at the same time, I don't want to do something that is only for a big company to make money; I want to build end consumer-centric products, something that people do care about. What I’ve created is tackling a problem that it's annoying to many people and I am glad I could help it solving it with my knowledge. With my knowledge, I created a product that can make people's lives a bit more comfortable.

How do you manage uncertainty?

I don't. I can always try to reduce risk... but if you start a company, you will find risk all over the place. So, don't do it if you are not willing to accept a minimum threshold of risk. In my case, I could have stored my money in the bank and not trying to build this but I decided to give it a go. I don't want to look back, 20 years from now, and say “I should have tried”. I don't want to live with regret later on.

What has been your most difficult decision that you have ever made?

Nothing is ringing the bell at this moment but... I would say that if I had to drop my project now, that would be a massive decision and would be really hard for me, after all this time.

What are the values an entrepreneur should have in order to be successful?

 

Resilience.  This is the number one.  If you are very lucky, you will succeed. But you won’t learn that much; if you look at other entrepreneurs, probably they haven't succeeded in the first place, they probably failed a lot. To be able to pick yourself up from your ashes, it would generate in you a great deal of resilience.

What would be your advice for that person who wants to build something of her/his own, as you did?

Don't do that on your own. Do it with someone that is here to help you, to watch your back; someone with complementary skills, regarding your weaknesses.  Solo-entrepreneur is really, really hard. Actually, investors usually say they look for three main things: team, team and team.

How to see the world in 10 years time?

It has to be a better place!  The technology is here to help. Unfortunately, we always think and look at it with an “empty glass approach”. We should rely on the human side to take the most out of it, to help us. I see a trend though: people caring more and more about our world, of what we are doing with the technology and willing to find solutions for the world problems. If you look to the statistics of the world average quality of life, our societies have improved a lot, despite all the bad news in the media about the pollution, the world population increase, the poverty in some parts of the world, etc. We just have to not destroy the planet and we should be fine.

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.