Behind Business  (BB) - 你是哪种类型的企业家?

Jaime  - 我认为,只存在一种企业家,就是能够让事情发生的人。

你是企业家还是商人?

嗯,这是一个很好的问题......我会说,我最初是一个不关心盈利能力甚至收入的企业家。我只是想做点什么。一路走来,我想我已经成为一名持续推动创意的商人。现在我觉得我既是企业家也是商人:我关心它的财务方面,并且主要是关于增长。

从何时起你开始把自己定义为企业家?

我认为它可以追溯到2008年,因为这是第一个可以被看作创业计划的项目。

 

为什么你决定成为一名企业家,并拥有一份生意,而不是“正常”的工作?

我一直觉得自己有必要做些什么。从我年轻的时候起,我就喜欢安排活动,聚集人们踢足球,寻找场地,等等。我非常积极地组织各项活动。例如,我在2008年开始了这个项目,我之前提到过,我和我之前在咨询公司工作时的朋友和前同事合作,在增强现实领域创立了一家公司。我们实际上是进行了这一想法的实验。它专注于纪念碑,商业模式则包括餐馆之间的联系。

那时发生了什么?

那时我们没有足够时间和勇气去全心投入。如您所知,在咨询行业我们工作很多,参与的项目往往很有挑战性,而我们为同一个项目工作,有相同的时间限制。所以,每周只花两三个小时是远远不够的。在我们还没有决定实现这一目标,100%致力于此的时候,它将不可能实现。

是什么让你决定要更进一步,实现跨越的?

对于我来说,当我在脑海里有清晰的规划时,我就想投入更多的个人时间,全职专注于此。我想检验一下我的想法。

“企业家们并不局限于一套有限的价值观。每个企业家都有自己的价值观。在我看来,我可以说是诚实,合作和坚持。快乐也非常重要,以及有做一些你真正想要追求的事情的愿望。“

你想让我们测试你自己,还是你的想法?

都有。我想测试自己,证明我能做到。我的一部分觉得我没有什么可失去的。作为我们需求的基础,我认为我不会失去什么。

让你实现跨越的那个项目是什么?

这是通过MBA实现的。这是我生命中第一次没有与公司签订合同,因此我决定在没有与任何人签订任何合同的情况下,专注于该项目一年半。

你认为创业精神是你与生俱来的,还是你认为可以通过MBA来发展?

二者都有。我总感到自己应该做一些事或创造一些东西。多年来,我一直尝试和测试其他的东西,同时,我也意识到我不想做的事情。所以我沿着这条路走下去,成为更好的企业家。我读MBA不是为了在那个时刻继续我的职业生涯,而是为了改变。我想通过MBA来改变,并拥有创建自己公司所需的工具。

 

 

您从中学到最多的一次失败是什么?

在我之前提到过的增强现实项目中。那是一个很差的时机,而事实证明它的市场潜力也很难确定,但我意识到,如果我想这样做,我就必须这样做。因此,从Viable我学到了很多:这是一个失败,但我们学到了很多东西。例如,我意识到在这类创业公司中拥有合适团队的价值和重要性,并发现对产品 - 市场契合度的评估对于创造市场符合需求的产品至关重要。

 

 

 

 

如果你有机会重新开始Viable,你会再做一切吗?

凭借我们拥有的知识,我们永远不会做同样的事情,但......这次我们能够让它发挥作用吗?我们曾经认为葡萄牙是测试这个想法的地方,但事实证明它不是,完全不是。不幸的是,我们仍然没有合适的供给和足够的需求。但无论如何,我们想要这样做,我们想尝试。 Viable项目更适合其他市场,如美国,也许还有英国。因此,这不是最好的时机,因为许多类似的计划正在开始,团队可能也会有所不同,而市场将来检验这一切。我实际上考虑过搬到硅谷。我花了一个月的时间来分析它是如何工作的。之后我觉得我不想长期搬到那里,这是目前的一个局限。

 

 

 

成为企业家的最好和最差的一面是什么?

对我而言,最有价值的是选择的自由。现在我工作不是比以前少;实际上,我工作的时间比在公司工作时更多。

因为这是你的婴儿......

对,就是这样!现在想象一下这项工作就好像你同时有4个婴儿一样,而所有婴儿都跑遍了这个地方!但关键的是你可以自由选择。即使你做错了,那么,至少你有这样做的自由。还有你可以灵活地旅行。最糟糕的是你必须随时保持联系。我会说我甚至不记得哪一天我没有做与项目有关的事!我无法断开与外界的联系,甚至没有假期,从来没有。我找不到时间休息,但我学会了忍受。

你认为价值观和自律在这种生活方式中起着重要作用吗?

当然。我有自己的习惯,例如,我每天都在同一时间醒来,我试着把我的日子规划得井井有条,但那是灵活性的一部分。例如,我可以规划自己在某个时间骑车。但灵活性并不意味着我做我想做的任何事情。比如,我想在这周骑自行车,我能做到,但我需要提前安排时间。但当我在咨询行业工作时,我无法做到!我现在有一个规划得非常好的时间表。

 

 

企业家必须拥有哪些最重要的价值观?

企业家们并不局限于一套有限的价值观。每个企业家都有自己的价值观。在我看来,我可以说是诚实,合作和坚持。快乐也非常重要,以及有做一些你真正想要追求的事情的愿望。

 

如果你将要写一本关于你自己的书,那么标题,副标题是什么,以及谁会为它来写序言?

我其实从来没有想过写书......或许,标题和副标题会是“企业家 - 你的生活。”关于前言,如果我能够邀请一个鼓舞人心的人...我会说,理查德布兰森。我会说这些企业家,比如理查德布兰森,比尔盖茨,史蒂夫乔布斯,都有一种非凡的能力,这对我们大多数人来说都是不可能的,他们愿意过一种不舒服的生活。有段时间我觉得我没有什么可失去的,但是......我已经习惯了,比如说,过着舒适的生活。而这些人并不在乎 - 他们愿意过一种完全不舒服的生活。理查德布兰森买了一个没有房子的岛屿,在他以前的唱片店睡觉。我觉得我无法做到这一点,对于我认识的大多数人来说也是如此。当然,那些不想放弃稳定的工作和职位而去创业的人,是因为他们不想失去那种舒适的生活方式,他们不愿意不知道明天会在哪里睡觉。而真正的企业家,会感觉他/她没有任何损失。如果你拥有这个能力,你可以建立伟大的东西。企业家和普通人的主要区别在于,努力让自己离开舒适区。

成功的定义是什么?

我做了一个硕士论文,实际上,是研究有助于公司取得成功的不同因素。主要结论是,当公司具有随时间增长的可持续盈利能力时,公司就会取得成功。许多因素促成了这一点,例如拥有合适的团队并且执行得非常出色,达到了持续盈利和已经建立了“增长机器”的程度。从个人的角度来看,对我来说,每天早上都要有健康和精力,去做我需要做的事情。

假设我们有两个传送设备,您可以将它们放在两个不同的地方。你会把它们放在哪里?

首先的假设是:如果某个地方会有一个地球的复制品并且人数较少,那么就放一个在这里。否则,现在更加现实的将是在里斯本和旧金山。我喜欢整个加州,当然,我更喜欢那里的企业家精神。但我也喜欢滑冰,冲浪,来自西海岸的朋克/铁杆音乐,电影,所有来自那里的艺术......我也喜欢卡斯卡伊斯和里斯本,但如果我现在可以在洛杉矶吃早餐,我不会犹豫。

从现在起10年后如何看世界?



不幸的是,比现在有点糟糕。我怎么看待我们完全被大公司所代表的经济力量所控制的“制度” - 我们已经腐化了,因此,我觉得我们的生活在这个世界上真的很有条件。与此同时,人们并未完全意识到它们对世界的负面影响及其行为的后果;从现在起10年后,除非我们做一些根本不同的事情,否则我们将遇到最坏的情况。它不再是一种选择,我们必须是社会的,我们是天生的。不幸的是,人们只是在考虑当下的时刻,他们目前的安慰,忽视了未来。




如果你想给那些想成为企业家的人提供一些建议,你会对她/他说什么?



我会突出显示消息“如果你想这样做,那就去做吧”。否则,你会后悔自己的一生。我还要说除了财务方面以外的其他因素,尽管这很困难,因为我们生活在一个为此而建立的社会中 - 平衡需求和愿望是至关重要的。

 

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Behind Business  (BB) - What kind of entrepreneur are you?

 

Jaime - I would say that there is only one kind of entrepreneur, the one that makes things happen.

Are you an entrepreneur or a businessman?

 

Well, it's an excellent question… I would say that I started as an entrepreneur not caring about profitability or even revenues. I just wanted to do stuff. Along the way, I think I've become a businessman to sustain the push for ideas. Now I think that I'm both; I care about the financial side of it, and mostly about the growth.

How long have you been defining yourself as an entrepreneur?

I think it goes back to 2008, as it was the first project that can be considered as a startup kind of initiative.

Why you decided to become an entrepreneur and to have a business instead of having a “normal” job?

I have always felt the need for doing things.  Even when I was young I liked to arrange things, gather people for playing football, finding the field to play, and so on; I was very active organising things. For instance, I started that project in 2008 I mentioned before with some friends and ex-colleagues from the consultancy company I was working on at that time, and it was about creating a company on the field of augmented reality.  We actually made a pilot about that idea. It was focused on monuments, and the business models involved the connection with restaurants.

What happened?

At that time we didn't have the time and the courage to pursue that. As you know, in consulting we work a lot, our involvement in the consultancy projects is very demanding, all of us were on the same page, having the same time constraints. So, spending two or three hours a week is never enough.  It won’t become a real thing as we haven’t decided to make that jump, to be 100% committed to that.

What does it take to make the jump to that step?

In my case it was when I had things more evident in my mind, that I wanted to dedicate some time to a personal venture, full-time focused on that. I wanted to test.

"There is no such thing as a limited set of values of every entrepreneur. Each one will have their own. In my case, I can say that is honesty, collaboration and persistence. Happiness is also an important one, also followed by the desire of doing something that you really want to pursue."

Did you want us to test yourself or your idea?

 

Both. I wanted to test myself to prove that I could do it. Part of me felt that I had nothing to lose.  Going to be basics of our needs, I saw that I had nothing to lose.

What was the project that made you do that jump?

It was Viable through the MBA. It was the first time in my life that I didn't have a contract with the company, so I decided to dedicate one year, one year and a half, without a contract with anyone, to fully focus on that project.


Do you think that the entrepreneurial spirit was born with you or do you think that can be developed, perhaps through an MBA?

Both.  I always felt the need of doing something or create something. Along the way, I was trying and testing other things and, at the same time, I was conscious of what I didn't want to do. So I followed a course towards to be a better entrepreneur.  I did the MBA not to continue pursuing my career at that moment, but with the aim of changing. I wanted to do an MBA to change and to have the tools I needed to create my own companies.

Which was the failure that you learn the most from?

It was when during that augmented reality project I mentioned before. It was terrible timing, and it turned out to be really difficult to identify the market potential for it, but I realised that if I wanted to do it, I would have to do it. Then, from Viable I learned a lot: it was a failure, but we learned a lot. For example, I realised the value and importance of having the right team in this kind of ventures and discovered that the assessment of the product-market fit is crucial to creating the products that the market demands.

If you had the opportunity to start Viable all over again, would you do everything again?

 

With the knowledge we have, we could never do the same but... would we be able to make it work this time? We considered Portugal the place to test that idea but it turned out that is was not, after all. Unfortunately, we still don't have the proper supply and the appropriate demand for that.  But we wanted to do it anyway, we wanted to try. The Viable project is more suitable for other markets, like the US, and maybe the UK. So, the timing was not the best, as many similar initiatives were starting, the team would be probably different as well, and the market to test it. I actually considered moving to Silicon Valley. I spent there one month analysing how it all works. Then I felt I didn’t want to move there for the long-term and that was a limitation.​​​​​​​​​​​​

 

What are the best and the worst side of being an entrepreneur?

 

The thing I value the most is the freedom of choice. It is not that I am working less now; actually, I end up working more than when I was working for a company.

 

Because it is your baby…

 

Yes, exactly! Now imagine the work as if you had 4 babies at the same time, all of them running all over the place! But the point is that you have the freedom to choose on your own. If you decided wrongly, well, at least you had the freedom to do so. Then you have the flexibility to travel. The worst point is that you have to be always connected. I would say I can’t even remember which was the last day I had done anything related to my projects! I cannot disconnect. Not even on holidays. Never. I don’t find a gap. But I learned to live with that.

 

Do you think the values and self-discipline play an important role in that kind of way of living?

 

Definitely. I have my habits, for instance, I wake up every day at the same time, I try to have my days fully organised, but that is part of the flexibility. I can define a time slot for bike riding, for instance. Flexibility doesn't mean that I do whatever I want when I want. It says that if I want to bike ride during the week, I can do it, but I will need to organise myself for that in advance. When I was working in consulting, I couldn’t do it! I now have a very organized schedule.

 

What are the most important values an entrepreneur must have?

 

There is no such thing as a limited set of values of every entrepreneur. Each one will have their own. In my case, I can say that is honesty, collaboration and persistence. Happiness is also an important one, also followed by the desire of doing something that you really want to pursue.

 

If you had to write a book about yourself, what would be the title, the subtitle and who would write the preface?

 

I have never thought about that… I would say that the title and subtitle could be “Entrepreneur - Your Life.” About the preface, if I would manage to get an inspiring person… I would say, Richard Branson.  I would tell that these guys, Richard Branson, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, have an extraordinary ability which is not available for the most of us which are to be willing to have an uncomfortable life. There was a time in my life I felt I had nothing to lose but… I am used to, let’s say, having a comfortable life and these guys don’t really care - they are willing to have a total uncomfortable life. Richard Branson bought an island without having a house, sleeping in his former record store. And I feel I am not able to do it, and the same for the most people I know. Of course, those who do not want to jump from their stable job and position into entrepreneurship is because they do not want to lose that comfortable way of life, they are not willing to not knowing where they will sleep tomorrow. This is the real entrepreneur, feeling that he/she does not have anything to lose. If you have that, that capacity, you can build great things. It is the main difference from those prominent entrepreneurs, to push hard on themselves.

 

What is the definition of success?

 

I did a Master Thesis about that, actually, studying different factors that contribute to a company to be successful. The main conclusion is that a company is successful when it has sustainable profitability that grows along the time. Many factors contribute to that, for instance having the right team and executing brilliantly, reaching a point where the profits are sustained and the ‘growth machine’ has been built. From a personal perspective, for me, it is to have health and energy every morning to do whatever I need and want to do.

Let’s say we have two teleport devices, and you can place them in two different places. Where would you put them?

So first hypothesis is: if there would be a replica of Earth somewhere and with fewer people, it would be there one of them. Otherwise, being more realistic nowadays would be in Lisbon and San Francisco. I love California as a whole, and of course, I love the entrepreneurial spirit there. But I also like skating, surfing, the punk/hardcore music from the west coast, the cinema, all the art coming from there... I love Cascais and Lisboa as well, but if I could have breakfast in LA right now, I’d not hesitate.

How do see the world 10 years from now?

Unfortunately, a little bit worse than now.  How I see it is that we are controlled entirely by the economic power, represented by the big corporations, the ‘system’ - which we have corrupted, and, thus, I feel we live really conditioned in the world. At the same time, people are not entirely aware of their negative impact in the world and the consequences of their actions; in 10 years from now,  unless we do something radically different, we will meet the worst. It is not an option anymore, we have to be social, which we are by nature.  Unfortunately, people are only considering the present moment, their current comfort, neglecting the future.

 

If you wanted to give some advice to people that want to become an entrepreneur, what would you say to her/him?

I would highlight the message “if you want to do it, do it”. Otherwise, you will regret your entire life. I would also say to value other things than just the financial side, although that is very difficult because we live in a society that is built for that - it is essential to balance the needs and wishes.

 

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.