Behind Business - 您认为自己是企业家还是商人?


José - 我更喜欢把自己看作一个企业家,因为我真正喜欢做的是创造,建立和思考一个企业,从创意阶段,产品,分销渠道,到如何到达客户,等等。这些都是创业阶段。当业务已经进入巡航速度时,企业家将始终在已经建立的组织中负责。但如果一切顺利,我将不得不随着Noocity的成长成为企业家。

 

你是怎么想出一个家庭花园的?

这有几个原因。当时另外两个朋友和我正处在一个人生阶段,我们计划离开波尔图。事实上,我们计划停止在波尔图市区生活,并转移到农村更加乡村的环境中。我们感到与自然,甚至农业的联系;正是这些东西把我们一直联系在一起。实际上,我们正在考虑购买一片土地并搬到那里,但在这些地方生活是不容易的。例如,我已经有了一个家庭,我们不得不考虑我们的孩子,他们与其他孩子的互动是一个需要考虑的重要因素......后来我们得出结论,这样的搬迁是非常困难的,并且将严重破坏以前我们在波尔图的生活。然而,当时我们在波尔图市中心有一个工作区,那里有一个小庭院。于是我们决定开始在那里种植,仅仅为了我们自己的消费,作为一种爱好,但也是从那时起,我们开始使用自动灌溉系统(以避免每天给植物浇水......)。

那时你的灌溉系统开始被人们所了解是吗?

有趣的是,很多来拜访我们的朋友,甚至是我们的客户,都开始对我们做的事感兴趣,“哇,真是个好主意!很有意思!我也想有一个!”他们会问, “难道你不想来我家做这件事吗?”就在那里,我们看到有很多人对它感兴趣,人们希望与大自然接触,通过一个小花园,一个小小的栽培空间来实现。我们意识到,有这样的需要并且存在市场,加上我们与大自然相联系的愿望,我们认为城市生活需要与自然和市场需求相联系,并决定创建一个可以将乡村带入城市的公司。 

但是你可能在开始时遇到了很多困难......或者根本没有?

当然,我只是将问题的动词时态改为现在,因为困难一直存在。事实上,这是一次难以置信的经历,全方位的学习,但绝对不是没有问题存在。这也是让我们学习,进化的原因!如果我们没有遇到困难,我们就无法获得更多收益。创建一家公司,开发一个完全理想化并由我们生产的产品,设计营销策略并实施它,安排人力和财务资源,构建这一切......是一个巨大的挑战!

“人是商业的重要部分。(......)如果你能培养你的员工,知道如何激励他们以及如何与他们相处,你就不必成为世界上最有能力的人,而成为一个好的领导者你就能做得很好。人际交往的能力和艺术无疑是最重要的。“

它开始多长时间了?

四年前。开始这个项目花了很长时间,这是一个非常缓慢的过程,它更像是一个备用项目。在2015年,我们正式在Indiegogo开展众筹活动时推出了该公司。我们开发了功能原型,但我们需要融资,我们还必须验证是否有人有兴趣购买。事实证明这条融资渠道运作良好 - 我们在短时间内卖出了很多。在2016年和2017年我们进入了市场。

在这次经历中最有意义的时刻是什么?

 

毫无疑问,其中一个关键时刻是众筹活动取得的成功。就在那时,我们确认自己的活动获得了公众的认可和欢迎,我们正在做一些有趣的事情。毫无疑问,这是亮点之一,并给了我们很多能量来继续。

在你所有的经历中,你必须做出的最困难的决定是什么?

事实上......它们都很难。例如,当我们有两条路径可以选择时,而我们必须选择一条而不是另一条路径,而不能测试这两条路径,这总是一个艰难的决定。比如说,当我们必须在开发新市场A和其他新市场B之间做出决定时,我们永远不会知道,如果我们决定去开发市场B而不是市场A,它会是什么样的,因为我们很感兴趣,甚至感到它可以获得更好的结果。我们无法测试所有选项,因此我们无法预见;虽然没有确定性,但我们必须继续前进。

你有没有后悔过你走的路?

是的,我回头并且尽可能弥补它。有时我做了错误的决定所以我返回了。我不后悔,因为我从中学到了很多东西。我们必须犯很多错误。

成为企业家最积极和最消极的方面是什么?

事实上,最消极的方面是项目的需要和个人需求的冲突,它需要巨大的牺牲,无论是个人还是家庭。通常它们很难调和。而积极的方面(成为一名企业家)则是你可以做一些你喜欢的事情,并按照你的信仰工作。你有自由去做你线稿的工作,在你想要的时候,和你喜欢的人,来完成你和你的团队已经规划好的事(当然我不会一个人做决定)。总体来说,这是非常有意义的。

1/1

你能描述一下在Noocity的典型的一天吗?

基本上没有这样典型的一天。作为首席执行官,我总是需要做最终决定,并承担最重要的责任。我的团队经常来找我讨论发生的任何问题。然而,我把这一周划分成天,每天都专注于一个主题,如市场,销售等,而星期五,则是团队聚集在一起和做决策的一天。我每天很早就醒来,把最重要的任务放在一天的前几个小时。我早上工作效率很高,但下午就不尽如此。因此,我一直致力于早上到中午做最重要的事情。在那之前,没有人打扰我;他们已经知道我很专注,甚至可能“被放逐”。下午我会把更多精力放在团队的其他成员上。

一个人创业的最重要特征是什么?

毫无疑问,是如何与人打交道。这是我一直以来尝试自我发展,并且越来越意识到它的重要性的事。人是商业的重要部分。我认为最重要的是在与人打交道时发展这些技能。如果你能培养你的员工,知道如何激励他们以及如何与他们相处,你就不必成为世界上最有能力的人,而成为一个好的领导者你就能做得很好。人际交往的能力和艺术无疑是最重要的。

如果你必须写一本关于你的经历的书,那么序言的标题和作者是什么?

嗯....我认为标题也许会类似于“学习”,我会请我的几位导师写下序言。自从我创办公司以来,我一直努力与那些有指导我的人保持联系。有时我会请求他们的支持,我与他们分享我的疑虑,并针对一些问题进行讨论。有的导师从一开始就和我在一起,所以我们在这个过程中一起经历了许多挑战。我从他们那里学到了很多东西,因此他们为写下序言做了更好的准备。

你如何找到合适的人,以及你如何选择他们?

它是很自然地发生的,因为一直以来我们都有机会遇见那些加入项目的人,或者是因为他们过去曾在某些特定活动需要时帮助过我们,或者因为他们有强烈的同理心。今天,团队只有这样的人,他们遇见了我们。我们从来没有雇用过某人的需要。我们在人力资源方面的增长完全是有机的。

您如何看待这个世界在今后10年的变化?

我本质上是一个乐观的人......所以我认为,我们生活在一个我们作为一个社会和这个星球的居民,面临一些具有挑战性的问题的时刻。我坚信做为人类,我们将迎来一个转折点,并能够建立一个更公平,更美好的世界。10年也许不会,但最多30-40年就会实现。我认为我们已经触底,因此我们必须有一个社会转折点。

Noocity是什么意思?

哲学中的Nous意味着思想,智慧和人类思维。用于生态学的第一个词是Noosphere,其中Sphere意为行星,Noo源自希腊语“Nous”,意思是思想,思维或集体智慧 - 因此,Noosphere意味着我们用我们的集体智慧为地球做了什么。因此,我们想把这个词和意义带到我们的城市中,NOOCITY就是这样诞生的。

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Behind Business  (BB) - Do you consider yourself an entrepreneur or a businessman?


José - I like to see myself more as an entrepreneur because what I really enjoy doing is to create, to build and to think about a business from the ground up, from the idea stage, the product, the distribution channels, how to reach the customer, and so on. These are all entrepreneurship phases. An entrepreneur will always have responsibilities in an already established organisation, where business is already at cruising speed. But if everything goes as expected, I will have to become a businessman with Noocity's growth.

How did you come up with a home garden?

There were several factors. Two other friends and I were in a stage of life in which we were planning to leave Porto. As a matter of fact, we were planning to stop living in the city of Porto and move to a more rural environment, in the countryside. We feel that connection to nature, to agriculture even; it has always been something that bonded us together. Actually, we were thinking of buying a piece of land and move there, but it has never been easy to make our life possible in these places; for instance, I already had a family, and we had to think as well about our children, their interaction with other children was an essential factor to consider... We concluded it would be complicated, that this change would be a significant rupture with the life that we had in Porto. However, at that time we had a workspace in the city centre of Porto where there was a small patio. We decided to start cultivating there, just for our own consumption, as a hobby, but it was then that we began to implement an automatic irrigation system (to avoid the need to water the plants every day...).

It was at that time your irrigation system started to be known?

The funny thing is that our friends who visited us, and even our customers, started to covet what we had begun to do, "Wow, what a cool idea! Very interesting! I would like to have one! "And they would ask," Don’t you want to come to my house to do this? " It was there that we saw that there were many people interested, people, who would like to have contact with nature, a small garden, a little space to cultivate at home. We realised, in fact, that there was a need and that there was a market. Joining our desire to have a connection with nature, our sense that life in the city needs this connection with nature and the need of the market, we decided to work on this idea of ​​creating a company that could bring the countryside into the city.

But you might have met many difficulties at the beginning ... or not at all?

Of course, and I’d just changed the verb tense of the question to the present because there are still difficulties. In fact, it has been an incredible experience, immense learning, but not without problems. This is also what makes us learn, evolve! If we did not have difficulties, we couldn’t gain as much. Creating a company, developing a product that is entirely idealised and produced by us, designing the marketing strategy and implementing it, arrange human and financial resources, structure it all ... is a huge challenge!

"Business is people. (...) If you can develop your employees, know how to motivate them and how to deal with them, you do not have to be the most competent person in the world, and you will do a great job of leadership in the end. Human relationship skills are undoubtedly the most important."

How long ago has it started?

 

Four years ago. It took a long time to start, it was a very slow process, it was more like a side project. Officially, we launched the company when we started the crowdfunding campaign in Indiegogo in 2015. We developed the functional prototype but we needed financing, and we also had to validate if there were people interested in buying. This funding path worked very well - we sell a lot in a short time. In 2016 and 2017 we went to the market.

 

What was the most rewarding moment of this experience?

 

One of the key moments was, undoubtedly, the successful crowdfunding campaign. It was then that we received confirmation that there was acceptance by the public and that we were doing something interesting. It was undoubtedly one of the highlights and gave us a lot of energy.

 

During all your course, what was the most difficult decision you had to make?

In fact... they are all difficult. For instance, when we have two paths in the course, and we have to choose one over the other, without having tested the two, it is a tough decision. Let’s say, when we have to decide between breaking through new market A and the other new market B, we will never know what it would be like if we had decided to go for market B instead of A, which also sounded really interesting at the beginning and it could even provide better results. We cannot test all the options so we cannot foresee; there are no certainties, but we have to move forward with it.

Have you never regretted the path you took?

Yes, and I went back to fix it. I made a decision that turned out wrong and went back. I do not regret it because I learned on the way. We have to make a lot of mistakes.

What is the most positive and negative aspect of being an entrepreneur?

The most negative, in fact, is the personal demands that the project requires; requires a huge sacrifice, both personally and family wise. It is often difficult to reconcile. Then, the positive aspect (of being an entrepreneur) is to be doing something that you like and to work on what you believe in. There is freedom to work as you want, when you want, with whom you want, to follow the course you and your team have decided (I do not make the decisions all by myself, obviously). This, in the end, is very rewarding.​

1/1

Can you describe a typical day at Noocity?

 

There is no such thing. Being the CEO, I always have the last call so the biggest responsibility is on me. My team often come to me for any problem that happens. However, I divide the week by days and each day is dedicated to a theme, be it marketing, sales, etc., and a day of the week, Friday, is the day the team gathers and make decisions. I wake up pretty early and set aside the first few hours of the day for the most critical tasks. I work well in the morning but in the afternoon... the concentration is no longer the same. Therefore, I dedicate myself to the most essential thing in the morning until noon. Until then nobody counts on me; they already know that I am focused, maybe even "exiled". In the afternoon I'm more available to the rest of the team.

 

What are the most important characteristics that a person has to be entrepreneurial?

 

It is, without a doubt, how to deal with people. It is what I try to develop in myself and what I am more aware of. Business is people. What I see as fundamental is the development of these skills in dealing with people. If you can develop your employees, know how to motivate them and how to deal with them, you do not have to be the most competent person in the world, and you will do a great job of leadership in the end. Human relationship skills are undoubtedly the most important.

 

If you have to write a book about your experience, what would be the title and the authors of the preface?

 

Hmm.... I think it would be something like "Learning" and I would ask some of my mentors to write the preface. Since I founded the company, I have tried to make an effort to always be in touch with those who have something to teach me. Sometimes I ask for their support, I share my doubts with them, and we discuss several issues. Some mentors have been with me since the beginning, and so we have gone through many challenges together during this course. I learned a lot from them, and therefore they would be the ones better prepared to write the preface.

How do you find the right people and how do you choose them?

 

This has been the most natural part because we have been meeting people along the way who joined the project afterwards, either because they have helped us in the past in a moment of need for some specific activities, or because there was strong empathy. Today the team only have people like that, who bumped into us. We never had the need to hire someone. Our growth regarding human resources has been purely organic.

How do you see the world in 10 years?

I am by nature an optimistic person so... I think that we are living in a moment where we face somewhat challenging issues as a society and as inhabitants of this planet. I am a quite strong believer in the human race and that we will meet a turning point and that we will be able to build a better world and more fair. 10 is not much but 30 to 40 years this will happen. I think we are reaching the bottom and so we must have a turning point as a society.

What does Noocity mean?

Nous in philosophy means mind, intellect, human thought. The first word used for Ecology was Noosphere, where Sphere means planet and Noo is derived from the Greek "Nous" which means mind, thought or collective intelligence - therefore, Noosphere meant what we do to our planet with our collective intelligence. Thus, we wanted to bring that word and meaning to the city, and from there NOOCITY was born.

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.