Behind Business - 你的人文主义来自哪里?

Ricardo Nunes  - 我们可以谈论我出生的地方。 我来自葡萄牙中部的阿布兰特斯,以及我的搭档保罗费尔南德斯。 我们是受过教育,与生活互动的人,很大程度上基于人的价值。 我不想对城市中的生活做出任何批评或判断,我相信当我们在较小的社区中成长时,事情会以不同的方式传递。 当我来到里斯本生活时,我觉得人与人之间缺乏亲近感,所以今天我只能住在市中心的街区,因为它最接近阿布兰特斯。 人们告诉我,我不能得到“Abrantes out of me”。 但是,我相信你说的人文主义是我积累的幸福和我曾经生活过的地方的所有经历的总和。

你是如何“选择”你的伴侣进行这次冒险的?


保罗和我是青年的朋友。 我们有非常相似的价值观和看世界的方式非常相似。 由于平常的生活,我们有一段时间不匹配。 保罗来到里斯本,当时我住在科英布拉。 然而,多年以后,我再次见到了保罗,在一次谈话中,我们说有一天我们会有一家公司; 我们会以自己的方式做事,以人为本,以人为本。 基于规模经济和不能均衡分配收入的支付模式,我们厌倦了看到一个总是以同样的方式接近市场的商业世界。

在创建“O Benefício”之前你做了什么?

我做了很多不同的事情。 我是一名公路经理,我有一家娱乐制作公司,我从一个地方旅行到另一个地方。 我已经在旅途中工作了14年,与乐队合作。 我还住在科英布拉的一个共和国,真正的共和国Boa-Bay-Ela。

“没人知道它会是什么,但它会令人难以置信。”

“我们说有一天我们会有一家公司;我们会以自己的方式做事,以人为本,以人为本。”

这种经历改变了你吗?

我对社会,对世界和对人都非常开放。 我年轻的时候很害羞,但后来我住在一个有12个人住在一起的房子里,有着完全不同的起源,一切都自然而然地改变了。 帮助我成长的另一个有趣的事情是内部的方法:当100%达成共识时,我们只做出影响社区的决策。 除了我获得的许多社交技巧之外,我在家中的时间对我的整个生活产生了影响。 我在那里住了5年。

您是否认为您的生活经历如今在“O Benefício”中体现出来?

我对世界的看法,关于社会,已明显转向“O Benefício”。 该项目吸收了我和我一生中所拥有的经验总和。 我还有另一家与音乐行业有关的公司,但我不得不结束他们的活动。

为什么叫“O Benefício”?

我一直在用一个词,这个词当然是'好处'('benifício',葡萄牙语)。 因为它是一个非常多才多艺的词,所以我一直在使用它。 我开始将它用作标签。 然而,在Mindshare工作期间,我的同事开始说“O Benefício”应该是商标。 我没有浪费时间; 有一天,我在网上冲浪,我去了葡萄牙工业产权局网站,发现该品牌仍然可用。 所以我注册了!

你如何从愿意采取行动?

我们开始为公司提出想法。 Paulo带来了一个人来帮助我们建立品牌,来自Lavandaria的Marta Teixeira,我们写了宣言,公司的价值观等等,直到保罗说“男人!这必须前进”。 当我们建立品牌时,我们会在一开始就快速确定我们想要的产品。 起初,这个概念有点不同,但我们改变了商业计划,并继续进行。 这就像一个生物,事物在发展。 然后我们开始与几个人交谈来解释这个概念。

里斯本是你生活的中心,但奥比多斯似乎非常依赖于福利。 为什么Óbidos?

首先,由于我们的起源,保罗和我一直非常依赖人,地球和自然。我们开始在里斯本周边的葡萄牙寻找可以获得认证生产商的地方,因为这与我们的愿景和我们对产品的需求有着内在的联系:有机和公平贸易。我们一直想把人文主义,甚至是产品的创造。有一天,在我度假的时候,我找到了我的一个朋友Hugo Pires,他喜欢制作有限的个性化土地种植产品的想法。他向我介绍了奥比多斯技术公园(OTP)的经理米格尔·西尔维斯特,他提议向我介绍公园及其理念。在OTP,我们遇到了Ana Lima,他也帮助我们向奥比多斯的当地生产商展示了“OBenefício”。我们认为让我们在奥比多斯 - 一个充满潜力的城市 - 进行赌注是完全有道理的,我相信它会变得更强大。所以我们决定在奥比多斯设立总部。

......在Startup Lisboa孵化是因为......

我已经和Startup Lisboa建立了很多联系,我也是一名导师,我问Miguel Fontes(Startup Lisboa的现任主管)是否可以在那里孵化。 Miguel非常喜欢我们的概念并给了我们这个机会,也因为导师有这个机会。 我们继续提交申请。 在正式接受之后,我们开始实施“虚拟孵化”概念,但我们很快意识到我们必须拥有一个物理孵化空间。 所以我们在Rua da Prata登陆并停飞,我们在5楼设有办公室。 我们喜欢身边。 通过这种方式,我们也在执行我们的战略,即连接到一个更加国际化的枢纽,进入这个世界的入口和出口 - 里斯本。

你是如何说服最优秀的创意人才来帮助你并说服制片人的?

 

大多数创意人才是我们的朋友,我和朋友。人们给我们的工作基线价值,即所谓的预算。然后我们添加公司的运营和战略成本,例如营销,产品开发等,我们将所有内容除以100,即每个产品的单位数量。当生产者设定价格时,我们不讨价还价。如果他/她说价格,那就成了该产品的合理价格,而这就是我们支付的价值。我们最终都赢了。我们在这种方法上缺乏灵活性;附加值必须来自质量,而不是来自生产的单位数量。我们并不反对全球化,但我们反对规模经济,关于那种强迫性的做事方式,我们希望一切都更便宜,而且总是生产者是那些留下较窄边缘的生产者。回到人才获取问题,我们解决了以下问题:同工同酬再分配,奖励基于项目的系统中的人,他们应得的金额相当而不是支付工资。

这不仅解决了公司结构的问题,还帮助我们实现了向合作者支付公平的目标。 当我们说我们以人为本时,我们也会提到这个问题。 我们有两个我可以分享的方法的例子。 例如,我们的背包是由我们的合作伙伴Beltimore,Rita Guerreiro和RuiCafé在概念上开发的,我们根据他们的期望和OBenefício的初始投资获得了补偿模型。 也就是说,当存在有效的想法时,我们会投资于其开发和分销。 这种共同创作模型也与Subtil Loom和Angela Subtil一起使用,这就是我们的笔记本电脑套和多用途小袋的诞生方式。

但是......OBenefício的精髓是什么?

OBenefício实际上是一个出版商。 我们的座右铭是“没有人知道它会是什么,但它会令人难以置信”。 很多人认为我要说的是不寻常的,但我通常说我们做的是“现实的中断”。 我们看一个特定市场的现实,并说“让我们做不同的事情”:更高的价格,更高的价值给生产者,为消费者提供合理的价格,更好的包装,更好的形象和更好的沟通。

购买更少,更好和本地的理念是什么?

对,就是这样。 这种方法对于生产者来说是非常好的,因为他/她销售的产品更昂贵,对最终消费者具有更高的感知价值,最终,我们都会变得更好。 根据我们的计划,今年对我们来说是关键的一年,因为我们将达到盈亏平衡点。 该项目的实施进展顺利,我们非常稳定。

那么,OBenefício是一家初创公司还是营利性公司?

该公司的财务目标是使其创始人盈利,并使其在未来完全可持续。我们已经有16个人,我们可以在最多样化的项目中为产品开发阶段寻求帮助。他们是在整个项目中或以项目为基础的风格与我们合作的人,他们独立地对于开发特定产品版本的所有步骤至关重要。我们与ISCTE建立了良好的合作关系,并在Fablab进行产品开发,在一个令人难以置信且非常激励的合作环境中为所有相关方提供服务。显然,所有这些活动都需要金融投资,这对于我们的集体协作模式的运作至关重要。如果我们考虑一下,我们就是一家创业公司,我们很快就会将产品推向市场,从头开始,不负众望,“没有人知道它是什么,但它会令人难以置信。”我相信很少有公司能够在2年内从完全不同的领域销售4种产品。我可以说,对于笔记本电脑套筒的推出,在生产产品本身,定义通信平台,更新网站,创建视频和照片之间,只花了3周时间。

您是否必须找到有共同价值观的人才能拥有一支优秀的团队?

是的,我们确实相信这一点。例如,现在我们只与在我们开展业务时分享我们价值观的人合作。我们已经与那些我们无法工作的人和公司合作,因为我们没有相同的愿景。与概念的亲和力对于一切以正确的方式流动至关重要。大多数人不喜欢和朋友一起工作。但是,我们知道最重要的是确保工作质量,通常,朋友永远不会让我们失望。朋友可以互相争辩,因为当有友谊时,没有伤害。它必须存在很多个人亲和力。我们开始与接近我们的人合作,最终我们成为了朋友。例如Alfredo Matos,他成为了OVenefício的好朋友。我认为我们非常积极的信息会产生与他人的良好互动。这是一个充满希望的信息,人们认同这一点。但是我不能不提到NunoGervásio,他从第一天起就一直和我们在一起,如果没有他,那么开发OBenefício的视觉世界是不可能的。或GonçaloFreitas,Nuno Miguel Dias或Alberto Quintas。

每个人都很重要,每个人都加起来。我不能错过像MartaPimpão这样人性化的人,来自Oppidum,我们的Ginja Liquor合作伙伴,以及来自Herdade of Tapada da Tojeira的LuísCoutinho。他们是我们发展的两个重要人物,因为他们在我们的合作伙伴关系中给予了极大的慷慨和喜悦。我还想推荐Spin我们的传播机构及其所有团队,Miguel Alpoim Ruas,Sara Diniz,PatríciaRoque,Margarida Ganso和Bruno Gomes,他们一直在传播我们的信息。此外,Startup Lisboa和奥比多斯科技园的团队对于OBenefício始终帮助传播新闻和克服挑战至关重要。我们只能感谢你。没有它们,就不可能到达这里。非常感谢你。

创业公司找人才有问题吗?

我们认为这很困难,这就是为什么我们的宣言将其中的一部分用于人才的重要性。 我们反对对人才的集约利用。 即便在今天,公司仍然采用与工厂方法相同的人才提取方法:以最低的成本提高产量。 但是,对于像我们这样具有概念性方法的创意产业而言,这条轨道不起作用,因为我们的概念不是大规模销售,而是专注于最高质量。 我们知道我们的产品并非每个人都有明显的选择。

你怎么看待这个世界从现在开始10年?

 

我相信我们必须开始减少和更好地购买。如果我们继续做我们迄今为止所做的事情,那么这个星球将无法忍受它。我想在未来我们会回到过去;以前,当我们买冰箱时,它会持续30年;现在事情已经完成了4.市场经济中存在一个概念性问题。对我们来说,新闻界最初称我们为“人道主义资本主义企业”。尽管定义本身存在一个悖论 - 当然不是问题 - 它的存在。所以谈谈这些事情是件好事。我们相信这种市场观念,因为我们相信市场经济,正如保罗和我认为的那样,而不是花费5欧元一瓶普通橄榄油,购买20欧元的特殊时刻。没关系,它永远都是这样的。正如人们过去常常买一套西装去周日弥撒一样。我想10年后会有更多像我们这样的公司和品牌。将有更多的生产者。令人疯狂的是,来自南美洲的一磅苹果比来自奥比多斯的一磅苹果便宜。这太荒谬了,用卡车把东西送到世界的另一边是没有意义的。将有更多的本地产品市场。但是,我们不是原教旨主义者,但我们相信我们可以为更美好,更公平的世界做出贡献。对我们而言,我们很自豪能够销售葡萄牙产品,如我们目前在我们的产品组合中的产品,以及与Oppidum,Herdade Tapada da Tojeira,Subtil Loom和Beltimore合作开发的合作伙伴。

你如何定义成功?

对我而言,成功就是拥有一家实践其所信仰的公司。例如,从我们参与由可回收安全带制成的背包项目的那一刻开始,我们就看着我们的其他产品并立即停止使用塑料 橄榄油和Ginja酒瓶上的塞子,我们开始使用软木塞。 对我来说,这是成功的一个例子。 我们正在为我们认为正确的社会道路做出贡献。 我们正在走向正确的道路,也就是说,与我们合作的人得到公平的报酬,并拥有兑现我们承诺的产品 - 这是成功的。

你不想赚一百万欧元吗?

是的,当然,我会,但不改变我们公司的方法。 建立一个强大的品牌和定位是具有挑战性的,但它很容易摧毁它; 它每天都不再是你的公司,品牌和梦想。

我21岁就有了第一家公司,但我从未认为自己是一名企业家。 我想我一直是一个追随自己梦想的人。 我经常说我已经拥有了,而且我的生活令人难以置信。 我有这种快乐。 我遇到了严重的问题,而且我已经失业了近一年,所以我知道某种痛苦,成功和失败。 我还不得不离开一家我是合伙人的公司,目前非常成功并且关闭了一个无法生存的企业。

但是你已经学到了很多东西,可以帮助别人随着你的经验成长。

是的,我学到了很多东西。 我和保罗。 但我们不要让自己被恶名迷住。 我们甚至没有一张机构照片,以说明这对创始人。 因为,对我们来说,最重要的是产品和公司理念。

成为一名企业家对你来说是什么?

你如何处理不确定性?

不确定性是我们产品的一部分。我们所知道的是,在Excel电子表格中,一切都很完美;它总是运行顺畅。我可以说它从未如计划过;有些情况会好得多,而其他情况则更糟。甚至没有中位数。这些经历是如此不同,以至于没有可能进行比较。作为一名企业家,更多的是与“我有一个梦想,我有一个想法,我将努力实现它”的心理可用性有关,并且对此,保罗和我是一致的。 OBenefício实现了这一承诺。这是我们的梦想,我们将把它付诸行动,但对我们来说,它不需要立即,这是创业公司世界的典型压力,即快速证明这一点。由于我们的理念是做得好而且慢,我们有点反对这种速度方法。虽然,正如我们之前所说,我们完全意识到我们必须具备这种灵活性,并且在必要时,我们也知道如何使用此工具(参见示例套管)。我们相信OBenefício将持续多年。根据我们的计划,第三年是沉淀年,因此我们正在加速一点。

在乌托邦成为现实的意义上,有时似乎企业家也是一位诗人。 真的吗?

我想有时一些人在看到OBenefício时会同意这一点。保罗和我相信,这是我们的梦想,有点乌托邦,但我们相信它。我们在生活中拥有三个“Miguéis”的幸福,Lisba Startup的Miguel Fontes,奥比多斯科技园的Miguel Albuquerque和Spin Spin的Miguel Alpoim Ruas总是给予我们全力支持。当我们展示我们所做的事情时 - 当我们与当地制作人合作时,当我们编辑我们的GinjadeÓbidos特别版时,当我们在瓶子上打印一首诗时,当我们用祖父母的时间将它包裹在黄油纸中时,它也有一个插图和故事 - 我想是这样;这听起来像诗歌。正如诗歌将汽车安全带变成背包一样,从未做过。从组织的角度来看,我们喜欢认为我们是一种对人文主义的颂歌,因为我们的团队就像这样工作。

我们知道我们的方法可能不正确。并且根本不批评其他模型;每个人都有自己的模特和态度。我所说的对我们的现实,我们的方法和OBenefício都有效。但我们不看其他选择,它们实际上不是我们的一杯茶,我们很高兴受到相信OBenefício的人的欢迎,为此,我们非常感激。

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Behind Business - Where does your humanism come from?

 

Ricardo Nunes - We can approach that topic speaking about where I was born. I’m from Abrantes, central Portugal, as well as my partner, Paulo Fernandes. We are people who have had an education, and interaction with life, much based on human value. Not wanting to make any criticism or judgment about life in the cities, I believe that when we grow up in smaller communities, things are passed on differently. When I came to live in Lisbon, I felt a lack of closeness between people, so much so that today I can only live in the city's downtown neighbourhoods, because it is where it most closely resembles Abrantes. People tell me that I can’t get "Abrantes out of me". However, I believe that the humanism you speak is a sum of all the experiences I have had the happiness of accumulating and of the places where I've been and lived.

 

How did you "choose" your partner for this adventure?

 

Paulo and I are friends of youth. We have very similar values ​​and ways of looking at the world very much the same. Due to the ordinary course of life, we ​​were some time mismatched. Paulo came to Lisbon while I stayed in Coimbra. However, years later, I met Paulo again, and in a conversation, we said that one day we would have a company; we would do things our way, it would be people-oriented, and with The Human Being as its core. We were tired of seeing a business world where there is always the same way of approaching the market, based on economies of scale and payment models that do not distribute income evenly.

What did you do before founding "O Benefício"?

 

I've done a lot of different things. I was a road manager, I had an entertainment production company, I was travelling from one place to another. I've been 14 years on the road, working with bands. I also lived in a republic, the Real Republic Boa-Bay-Ela, in Coimbra.

"Nobody knows what it will be, but it will be amazing."

"We said that one day we would have a company; we would do things our way, it would be people-oriented, and with the Human Being as its core."

Has that experience changed you?

 

I became very open to society, to the world and to people. I was shy when I was younger, but I then went to live in a house where 12 people lived together, with entirely different origins, and everything changed naturally. Another funny thing that helped me grow was the approach inside the house: we only made decisions that affected the community when there was 100% consensus. In addition to the many social skills I gained, my time in the house had an impact on my entire life. I lived there for 5 years.

Do you think that your life experiences manifest in "O Benefício" nowadays?

My view about the world, about society, has clearly moved to "O Benefício". The project absorbs the sum of the experiences that Paulo and I had during our lifetime. I also had another company, more related to the ​​music industry, but I had to end their activity.

Why the name "O Benefício"?

I had been using a word a lot, and the word was, of course, 'benefit' ('benifício', in Portuguese). I was using it for everything since it is a quite versatile word. I started using it as a hashtag. However, while working on Mindshare, my colleagues started saying that "O Benefício" should be a trademark. I wasted no time; one day, I was surfing on the web, I went to the Portuguese Institute of Industrial Property website and noticed that the brand was still available. So I registered it!

How do you move from the willingness to action?

We started having ideas for the company. Paulo brought a person to help us build the brand, Marta Teixeira from Lavandaria, we wrote the manifesto, the values ​​of the company, etc., until the day Paulo said "Man! This has to go forward." And when we were building the brand, we quickly defined which products we wanted to have at the beginning. At first, the concept was a little bit different, but we changed the business plan, and we carried on. This is like a living being, things evolve. Then we started talking to several people to explain the concept.

Lisbon is the centre of your life, but Óbidos seems to be very attached to The Benefit. Why Óbidos?

To begin with, because of our origins, Paul and I have always been very attached to people, to earth and to nature. We started looking for areas in Portugal, around Lisbon, a place that had good access to certified producers, since this was intrinsically linked to our vision and what we wanted for our products: organic and fair trade. We have always wanted to put humanism, even in the creation of the product. One day, while I was on vacation, I found a friend of mine, Hugo Pires, who liked the idea of ​​making limited, personalized editions of land-grown products. He introduced me to the manager of the Obidos Technological Park (OTP), Miguel Silvestre, who offered to introduce me to the park and to its philosophy. It was also in the OTP that we met Ana Lima, who also helped us to present "O Benefício" to the local producers in Óbidos. We thought it would make total sense for us to bet in Óbidos - a city full of potential, and I believe it will be stronger and stronger. So we decided to set up our headquarters in Óbidos.

… and being incubated at Startup Lisboa was due to...

I already had many connections to Startup Lisboa, in which I also have been a mentor, and I asked Miguel Fontes (current director of Startup Lisboa) if we could be incubated there. Miguel really liked our concept and gave us this opportunity, also because the mentors have that chance. We carried on with the submission of our application. After been formally accepted, we started on a "virtual incubation" concept, but we quickly came to realize that we had to have a physical incubation space. So we landed and grounded ourselves on Rua da Prata, where we have an office on the 5th Floor. We love being around. In this way, we were also executing our strategy of being connected to a more cosmopolitan hub, to this point of entry and exit to the world - Lisbon.

How did you convince the best creative talents to help you and as well as persuade the producers?

Most of the creative talents are our friends, mine and Paulo's. People give us the baseline value for their work, the so-called budget. Then we add the operational and strategic costs of the company, such as marketing, product development, etc., we combine everything and divide by 100, which is the number of units of each product. When the producer sets the price, we do not bargain. If he/she says a price, that becomes the fair price of that product, and it's that value we pay. We all win in the end.

 

We are inflexible in this approach; the added value must come from the quality and not by the number of units produced. We are not against globalization, but we are against the economies of scale, regarding that obsessive way of doing things, where we want everything cheaper and where it is always the producer who is the one left with the narrower margins. Coming back to the issue of access to talent, we solve that as follows: equal pay redistribution, rewarding people in a project-based system, with the fair amount of money they deserve instead of paying a salary.

This solves not only the issue of the company's structure but also help us to achieve our goal of paying collaborators what is fair. When we say we are human-centric, we also refer to this matter. We have two examples of our approach I can share. For instance, our backpack was conceptually developed by our partners, Beltimore, Rita Guerreiro and Rui Café, and we got a compensation model based on their expectations and the initial investment from O Benefício. That is, when a valid idea exists, we invest in its development as well as in its distribution. This co-creation model was also used with Subtil Loom and Angela Subtil, and that's how our laptop sleeves and multipurpose pouch were born.

But... what is the essence of O Benefício?

 

O Benefício is, in reality, a publisher. Our motto is "Nobody knows what it will be, but it will be amazing". A lot of people think that what I'm going to say is something unusual, but I usually say that we do are "Disruptions of Reality". We look at a reality of a specific market and say "Let's do it differently": with higher prices, more value to the producer, with a fair price for the consumer, better packaging, better image and better communication.

Is that philosophy of buying less, better and local?  

 

Yes, exactly. This approach is excellent for the producer because he/she sells the product more expensive, with a higher perceived value to the end consumer and, in the end, we all get better off. This year is a critical year for us because we would reach the break-even point, according to our plan. The implementation of the project is going very well, and we are perfectly stable.

So, is O Benefício a startup or a for-profit company?

The financial goal of this company is to make it profitable for its founders and to make it totally sustainable in the future. We already have 16 people to whom we can ask for help for the product development phase in the most diverse projects. They are people who collaborate with us in the overall project or in a project-based style, independently and who are essential for the development of all the steps in the construction of a particular product edition. We have a healthy relationship and partnership with ISCTE, in which product development is carried out in Fablab, in an incredible and very motivating collaboration environment for all the parties involved. Obviously, all this activity requires financial investment as well, something essential for the operation of our model of collective collaboration. If we think about it, we are a startup in the sense that we are very quick to place products on the market, starting from scratch, living up to our claim, "nobody knows what it is, but it will be incredible." I believe there are very few companies that market 4 products from completely different areas within 2 years. I can say that for the launch of the laptop sleeve, between producing the product itself, defining the communication platform, updating the site, creating the videos and photos, only took 3 weeks.

Do you have to find people who share your values to have a good team?

Yes, we do believe in that. For example, right now we only work with people who share our values, when we’re making business. We’ve already worked with people and companies with whom we can't work anymore since we did not have the same vision. The affinity with the concept is essential for everything to flow in the right way. Most people prefer not to work with friends. However, we know that the most important is assuring the quality of work and, usually, friends never fail us. Friends can argue with each other because when there is friendship, there are no hurts. It has to exist a lot of personal affinities. We started to collaborate with people that approached us, and we ended up becoming friends. On example is Alfredo Matos, who became a great friend of O Benefício. I think our very positive message generates good interaction with others. It is a message of hope, and people identify themselves with that. But I can not fail to mention Nuno Gervásio who has been with us literally since the first day, and without him, it would have been impossible to develop the visual universe of O Benefício. Or Gonçalo Freitas, Nuno Miguel Dias or Alberto Quintas.

Everyone counts and everyone adds up. I can not miss mentioning people with such a human dimension like Marta Pimpão, from Oppidum our partner for our Ginja Liquor, as well as Luís Coutinho from Herdade of Tapada da Tojeira. They were two essential people for our development since they have placed great generosity and joy in our partnerships. I also want to refer Doctor Spin our communications agency, and all its team, Miguel Alpoim Ruas, Sara Diniz, Patrícia Roque, Margarida Ganso and Bruno Gomes, who has been fundamental in spreading our word. Also, the teams at Startup Lisboa and Óbidos Technology Park have been essential for O Benefício to always help to spread the news and overcome the challenges. We can only thank you. Without them, it would not have been possible to get here. Thank you very much.

Is not there a problem finding talented people for a startup?

We believe that it is difficult, and that is why our manifesto devotes part of it to the importance of talent. We are against the intensive exploitation of talent. Even today, companies maintain the same method of extraction of talent equal to the method of a factory: increased production at the lowest cost. But this track, for a creative industry like ours, which has a conceptual approach, does not work, because our concept is not to sell massively, but rather to focus on maximum quality. We know that our products are not obvious choices for everyone.

How do you expect the world to be 10 years from now?

I believe we will have to start buying less and better. If we continue doing what we have been doing until now, the planet won’t be able to stand it. I think in the future we will go back in time a bit; formerly, when we would buy a refrigerator, it lasted 30 years; now things are done to last 4. There is a conceptual problem in the market economy. To us, in the beginning, the press called us a "humanistic capitalist enterprise". Despite the existence of a paradox within the definition itself - which is not a problem of course - the very existence of it. So it's good to talk about these things. We believe in this market perception because we believe in the market economy, just as Paulo and I think it’s possible, instead of spending € 5 a bottle of ordinary olive oil, buying a € 20 for special moments. And it’s ok, it’s been like that forever. Just as people used to buy a suit to go to Mass on Sunday. I think 10 years from now there will be more companies and brands like ours. There will be more producers. It is insane that a pound of apples from South America is cheaper than a pound of apple from Óbidos. It's just ridiculous, and it makes less sense to send things in a truck to the other side of the world. There will be more marketplaces of local products. However, we are not fundamentalists, but we believe that we can contribute to a better and fairer world. For us, we are proud to be able to sell Portuguese products like the ones we currently have in our portfolio, and the partnerships developed with Oppidum, Herdade Tapada da Tojeira, Subtil Loom and Beltimore.

How do you define success?

For me, success is to have a company that practices what it believes in. Success is, for example, from the moment we got involved with the project of backpacks made from recycled seat belts, we looked at our other products and immediately stopped having plastic stoppers on the bottles of Olive Oil and Ginja Liquor, and we started having cork stoppers. For me, it is an example of success. We are contributing to what we believe to be the right path for our society. We are going the right way, that is, those who work with us are paid fairly and have products that deliver on our promise - that is a success.

Wouldn't you like to make a million euros?

Yes, of course, I would, but without changing our company's approach. It is challenging to build a strong brand and positioning, but it is effortless to destroy it; from day to day, it ceases to be your company, brand and dream.

I had the first company at age 21, but I’ve never considered myself an entrepreneur. I think I've always been a person who has followed his own dreams. I usually say that I have had, and I have an incredible life. I have had this happiness. I've had severe problems, and I've been unemployed for almost a year, so I've known some kind of pain, success and failure. I also had to leave a company of which I was a partner and currently is very successful and to close a business that could not be viable.

But you have learned immensely and can help others to grow with your experience.

Yes, I learned a lot. Both I and Paulo. But we do not allow ourselves to be fascinated by notoriety. We don’t even have an institutional photograph together, to illustrate the pair of founders. Because, for us, the most important is the product and the company philosophy.

What is it to be an entrepreneur to you?

How do you manage uncertainty?

Uncertainty is part of our product. What we do know is that in an Excel spreadsheet, everything is perfect; it always runs smoothly. And I can say that it never went as planned; there were cases where it went much better and others much worse. There is not even a median. These are experiences so disparate that there is no possibility of comparison. Being an entrepreneur has more to do with the mental availability of "I have a dream, I have an idea, and I will try to make it happen", and regarding this, Paulo and I are in tune. O Benefício materializes this promise. This is our dream, and we will put it into action, but for us, it doesn’t need to be right away, which is the typical kind of pressure in the world of startups, which is to prove it quickly. As our philosophy is to do well and slowly, we are a little bit against this approach to speed. Although, as we said earlier, we are entirely aware that we must have this agility in us and when necessary, we also know how to use this tool (see example sleeve). We are sure that O Benefício will last for many years. The third year is the year of sedimentation, according to our plan, and therefore we are speeding up a little more.  

Sometimes it seems that the entrepreneur is also a poet, in the sense that a utopia becomes a reality. Is that true?

I think sometimes some people can agree on that when they look at O Benefício. Paulo and I believe that, which is a dream we have, a little utopian, but we believe in it. We also had the happiness of having three "Miguéis" in our life, Miguel Fontes of Startup Lisboa, Miguel Albuquerque of Óbidos Technological Park and Miguel Alpoim Ruas of Doctor Spin who always gave us full support. When we show what we do -  when we partner with local producers, when we edit our Ginja de Óbidos special edition, when we print a poem on the bottle, when we wrap it in butter paper from our grandparents' time, which also has an illustration and a story - I think so; that sounds like poetry. Just as it is poetry to turn car belts into backpacks, which had never been done. From the organizational point of view, we like to think that we are a kind of ode to humanism since our team works like this.

 

We are aware that our approach may not be the right one. And do not criticize other models at all; each person has its own model and attitude. What I am saying is valid for our reality, for our approach, and for O Benefício. But we do not look at other choices, they are not really our cup of tea, and we are happy to be welcomed by people who believe in O Benefício, and for that, we are very grateful obviously.

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.