Paulo       Cunha

前联合创始人和CEO, ShiftForward, 产品首席执行官, Velocidi, 联合创始人,​ Founders Founders

Paulo Cunha Velocidi

照片来源:​ Joana Leitão

 

Behind Business  - 你是如何到达现在的位置的?


Paulo - 我感到自己从很年轻(15岁或16岁时)就开始就有了创业的念头。当你在那个年龄段拥有那种精神时,你已经想要开始做一些事情 -例如,找一份暑期工作来节约一些钱。当时,我自己的兴趣还是在科技方面,1997年我在葡萄牙推出了第一家在线服装店,销售定制衬衫,至今仍在运行。

你继续你的创业旅程了吗?

噢,我把它搁置了一段时间。我首先在波尔图学习课程,后来去了伦敦,在这个过程中,我开始在我想要去的地方工作。我不仅从事软件开发,并且最终也与商业领域相关联,特别是在市场营销和数据领域。而后,我也开始对这些领域更加感兴趣。在那段时间,我在一家德国创业公司工作,从2006年到2009年,所以我能够搭上创业的快速列车,并体验了在创业公司工作的疯狂。我喜欢这样的生活!它对我很有吸引力。这让我获得了很好的体验,不仅仅作为领导者,而是在充满的起伏的创业时代中。同时,我认识了来自各个国家的优秀的人 -西班牙,意大利,法国,英国,德国。我喜欢它,并对自己说,最终,我想在合适的环境中重复这样的经验。

你为什么又回来了?

当时我想去一个温暖,天气晴朗的地方。所以我想到了几个城市,比如巴塞罗那,柏林,波尔图......最终,我选择了波尔图,在那里我可以离朋友和家人更近。同时,我继续为欧洲公司工作,帮助他们设计营销技术解决方案。由于我的薪水相对较高,我每周工作两天满足生活所需,并可以在其余的工作。随着业务的增长,当我看到更多的人有软件开发的需求时,我决定创办一家公司。由于我和我的合作伙伴已经花了很多时间为别人开发产品,我们决定自己开发产品 - 可以快速规模化的产品。我们开始考虑具有技术价值的解决方案。
.

 

 

“我总被那些乐于投入自己时间的人们所启发,这些对于我们来说是宝贵的资源 -并且设法将其用于为社会服务。那些喜欢并鼓励志愿服务,支持他人的人是最能激励我的人,因为他们正在使用他们最有价值的东西 -时间,并将其免费贡献给社会。这些人是最鼓舞人心的人。“

 

为什么你在早期阶段提到“我们”而不是“我”?

因为它始终是一个团队,你几乎无法独立完成这类事情,努力创新并成为一名企业家。在这段旅程中总会有人与您一起开始,特别是在开发创新性的软件时(顺便说一下,这不是一个朝九晚五的工作)。从一开始,办公室就是我的起居室,在这种环境下的谈话主题很可能是"作为一家公司我们将要做什么”,“我们将如何去做”,“我们要创造怎样的产品/ 服务”,等等。

您是否认为在开始阶段,最好在联合创始人之间建立牢固的友谊关系,以确保公司的成功?或者只是建立纯粹的商业关系更好?

我认为友谊关系有助于开始,因为一定程度的信心可以帮助你前进,并帮助你们彼此开诚布公地交流。但是,我发现在某些情况下它很复杂。你必须能够分离什么是商业和什么是友谊,就像生活中的一切一样,总有好的一面和坏的一面。我认为这必须根据具体情况进行评估。话虽这么说,有些时候,对于某些企业来说,以某种方式做到这一点是有意义的,而有些时候,采取另一种做法是有道理的。这在很大程度上取决于公司和人 - 没有规则。

哪一个更难管理:时间,人,还是金钱?

我觉得时间更难。虽然生活在当前现实的泡沫中,科技公司认为管理资金更加复杂。但我认为情况并非如此,我相信管理时间更复杂。你必须能够说服投资者资助你,你总能得到更多的钱,这是肯定的,但是对于时间你却不能买来。当我这样说时,并不是从哲学的角度 - 如果你的创业公司正在寻找资金来支持增长,而且只在五年之后才能实现目标 - 你必须讲一个很好的故事来解释原因,例如,你正在寻找第一笔增长的投资。一家已经5年的创业公司很难有资格获得各种欧洲基金的支持,如果是这种情况,任何投资者都会感到奇怪。除非它不再是一个创业公司,它已经有了一个结构和一系列客户......但创立初期的公司总是在寻找可扩展的商业模式。时间在这里就显得至关重要,它是一个非常稀缺的资源。从你创办公司的那一天起,时钟开始工作,好像它是“生物启动时钟”一样。

1/1

那么,你所说的是,很容易接触到投资者?

很容易与投资者取得联系,是的,毫无疑问。

即使在葡萄牙也是这样吗?

当然,我不认为“在葡萄牙”的出发点是他们必须是来自葡萄牙的投资者,但在葡萄牙,你可以进入欧洲市场。和任何其创业公司一样,你的故事,你的想法,需要让尽可能多的人充分了解。无论在何处,投资者总是会避免错过绝佳的商业机会。因此,与任何其他欧洲国家相比,葡萄牙处于同一水平。关于立法,税收和资本流动,在欧盟范围内的地区是非常简单的。葡萄牙有许多优势,让创业者可以迅速卖给任何投资者。在FoundersFounders,曾经发生过几次投资者直接上门的情况,询问我们是否能为他们推荐新的机会。

你如何定义成功?

 

个人成功是能够与自己和平相处,享受你的所作所为。从财务方面来说,当拥有的财富让你无须担心时,你就可以专注于你喜欢做的事情。但是,你不必成为一个企业家来实现这一目标。实际上,作为一名企业家可能是到达那里最具挑战性的途径;至少它是最麻烦的。只是,也许,它是最有趣的。从公司的角度来看,成功是直截了当的:它在财务上是可持续的 - 但在其他层面也是可持续的:在商业道德上可持续,在对待人和客户的方式上可持续,等等。这是财务可持续性有意义的唯一方式。

如果我们把这个放在一个特定的亚洲国家的背景下,佛教文化占主导地位,那么做不道德的事业会带来不好的报应。从长远来看,这会影响到你。

我完全同意这一点,尽管我对报应这个话题并不太相信。我们总能找到赚更多钱的方法......下一个问题则是这将如何帮助你和周围的社会。也许,如果你有更多的钱,它对你没有太大的影响,但对于其他人来说,这将创造巨大的价值。不善待他人永远是一个短期的方式,最终你会搬起石头砸自己的脚;你不知道什么时候你会成为那个会被虐待的人。我更多地相信这种“报应”,从某种意义上来人,如果你不善待人,他人亦不会认可你,你最终会被孤立。这是应得的。

是谁激励和鼓舞了你?

 

许多人以不同的方式激励着我。例如,我的父亲在诸如韧性,商业智慧和他总有“保持车轮旋转”的能力等问题上。在专业知识方面,我受到Steve Blank在市场营销和销售领域的启发。我发现他能够以如此简单的方式翻译和传达复杂的概念。我也受到每个用最少资源做很多事情的人的启发。同时,我总被那些乐于投入自己时间的人们所启发,这些对于我们来说是宝贵的资源 -并且设法将其用于为社会服务。那些喜欢并鼓励志愿服务,支持他人的人是最能激励我的人,因为他们正在使用他们最有价值的东西 -时间,并将其免费贡献给社会。这些人是最鼓舞人心的人。“

 

有没有一本书你觉得适合创业的人阅读的?

是的,我会推荐Geoffrey Moore的“跨越鸿沟”。我想每个想完成某件事的人都应该阅读这本书。

你最珍惜的是什么,从现在看来?

我曾经遇到过这样的情况,我认为它对我来说在大学时是最复杂的。我想同时在大学学习和工作。然而,由于时间不够,在大学的第二年,我的很多课程都没有通过。我去伦敦的想法是,在那里这两件事情会更容易调和 - 实际上,这是因为英国的社会对在学习期间有工作的人的开放程度远远高于葡萄牙。在伦敦的第一年,我没有被批准学习我想要的课程,所以我开始思考,“它(在大学读一门课程)是否适合我?我已经在波尔图待了两年,现在我不得不再浪费一年多的时间......“但是,在接下来的一年里,我再次申请并被录取了!只是,在我脑海中还是一直存在这个可怕的想法:“这永远不会结束......我将无法完成它”。这很难,不仅是因为我在同一时间工作和学习,而且还因为我们从伦敦这样的城市和学校本身获得了自由。在葡萄牙,我习惯于按照一个严格的时间表来上课,然而在那里,我可以自由选择做我想做的任何事情。我可以选择参加课程或不参加...我很可能不会参加。

它让你想到......

它我想到在去年的时候,有些时候我不相信我能够完成这一切。在我的脑海中有整部我无法完成的电影,我做不到......相信你们明白。失败一连串地发生:我放弃了波尔图的工程课程,但是不知道之后我是否能够参加伦敦的课程......在有些阶段,我感到非常苦恼,几乎无法前进。终于有一天,我获得了最后一个年级最后一门考试的学分...这曾是我生命中最宏伟的目标之一。我对自己说,“结束了,我现在终于可以做点什么了...”那时候我感觉压力很大,事实上我在说服父母说我要搬到伦敦去完成课程之后,我立刻去了伦敦。当然......一下子有太多的事要做,我能感觉到肩膀上的重量,所以我在想:“如果我不能完成它,我能在那里做什么?”


在生活中的那些时刻长大了吗?

当然,毫无疑问,我成长了很多。

 

现在,想象一下你在未来,你有两个远距传输设备,用于双向旅行。 你要把它们放在哪里?

我会把一个放在波尔图,另一个放在伦敦。 我想我会感到失望,因为...伦敦对我来说就是我遇到的人,就像波尔图一样。 然而,与波尔图不同,在伦敦,人们移动很多,因为这个城市最常见的事情就是到达那里,停留和工作几年然后离开。 一些对我很重要的人仍然在那里,但也有很多人在那里,就像我一样。 他们已经在自己的祖国或者在另一个国家谋生......所以......我们每个人都有他/她的理由去他/她所在的地方。 无论如何,我会继续选择伦敦,因为它仍然是我的中心,一个聚会场所。 我希望英国脱欧的立法改变不会影响我们往返英国的流动性......但不幸的是,我认为他们会改变。 如果他们不改变,它仍将是一个令人难以置信的地方。

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Paulo       Cunha

Co-founder and former CEO of ShiftForward, Chief Product Officer at Velocidi, and co-founder of Founders Founders

Paulo Cunha Velocidi

Photo by Joana Leitão

 

Behind Business  (BB) - How did you get to where you are now?


Paulo - I think I already had the entrepreneurial bug in me from a very early age, since when I was 15 or 16 years old. When you have that spirit at that age you already want to do things -  get a summer job to save money for instance. At that time, what I was really excited about were technological things, and in 1997 I launched the first online clothing store in Portugal, selling customised shirts, which still runs today.​

Did you carry on with your entrepreneurial ventures?

Well, I left that aside for a while. I started a course in Porto, went to London and during this process I started working there in the area I wanted to. I was not only connected to software development but also ended up being attached to the business side of it as well,  particularly in the field of ​​marketing and data. Soon after I started to be more curious about those areas. During my time there I worked in a German startup, from 2006 to 2009, so I was able to catch the train to the startup world and experienced the craziness of working at a startup. I loved it! I found it fascinating. This made me acquire an excellent experience, not as a leader but also on the startup world and phases as well, which is full of ups and downs. Ended up meeting awesome people from various countries - Spain, Italy, France, England, Germany. I liked it and said to myself that I would want to repeat that experience, eventually, in another circumstance.

Why did you come back?

At that time I wanted to go to a warmer place, with sunny weather. So I thought of several cities, like Barcelona, ​​Berlin, Porto ... and Porto won, more for the sake of proximity to the people, family, etc. I continued working for European companies to help them designing technological solutions for marketing. Since I was relatively well paid, I could afford to work two days, and then I was available in the remaining ones. As the business grew and as I saw more people asking for software development, I decided to start a business. As my partner and I were already spending a lot of time developing things for others, we decided to build our own products as well - products that could scale quickly. We began to think of solutions that had technological value.
.

"I am inspired by the people who take on their time - which I think it is always the scarcer resource we have - and they manage to put it at the service of the society. People who like and encourage volunteering, supporting others, are the ones who inspire me the most because they are using their most valuable coin, time and giving it for free to society. These are the most inspiring people."

Why do you mention 'We' instead of 'I' at that early stage?

It's always a team, you never do this kind of things alone,  trying to innovate and to be an entrepreneur. There is always someone that embark with you on that trip, especially when it comes to developing innovative software (which is not a 9 to 5 job by the way). In the beginning, the office was my living room, and the conversations in this environment naturally end up being about "what are we going to do as a company", "how are we going to do it", "what business are we going to create”, and so on.

Do you think that in the beginning, it is better to have a strong friendship based relationship between the co-founders to ensure the success of the company? Or is it better just to have a purely business relationship?

 

I think a friendship relationship helps to get started because there is a degree of confidence that helps you move forward and helps you talk openly with each other. However, I find it complicated in some situations. You have to be able to separate what is business and what is friendship, and like in everything in life, there is always a good and a bad side. I think this has to be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. That being said, there are times when, for certain businesses, it makes sense to do it in a certain way and in others where it makes sense to take another approach. It depends a lot on the business and on the people - there are no rules.​​

What is harder to manage: money, people or time?

 

I think the time is harder. Although living in a bubble nowadays, technological companies think that managing money is more complicated. I think it is not the case. I do believe that managing time is more complicated. You can always get more money; you have to be able to convince the investor to finance you, that's for sure, but you can not buy any more time. And when I say this, it's not in a philosophical way - if your startup is looking for funding to grow, and it only does it after five years, for example - you'll have to tell a story very well told to explain why, just now, you are looking for the first investment to grow. A 5-year startup is not eligible for various European funds, it starts right there. Any investor will find it strange. Unless it is no longer a startup, and it has already a structure and a portfolio of clients... but at startup is always looking for a scalable business model. Time, here, is critical, it is a very scarce resource. The day you start the company, the clock begins to work, as if it is the “biological startup clock”.

1/1

So, what you are saying, is that it is easy to reach to the investors?

 

It is easy to reach to the investors, yes, no doubts about it.

 

Even in Portugal?

 

Of course, and I do not think “in Portugal” from the perspective that they have to be Portuguese investors, but you're in Portugal, and you have access to the European market. Your story, your idea, has to be well told, as with any other. The investor always avoids losing excellent business opportunities, wherever it may be. Therefore, Portugal is at the same level when compared with any other European country. Concerning legislation, taxes, and about the movement of capital, it is quite straightforward when talking about a state in the European Union. Portugal has many advantages that are quickly sold to any investor. At FoundersFounders we have several cases of investors knocking on the door to ask if we know of new opportunities to recommend them.

 

How do you define success?

 

Individual success is being at peace with yourself and enjoying what you do. If you want to talk about to the financial side of it, success is having enough so that that stops to be a concern, and you can focus on what you like to do. But, you do not have to be an entrepreneur to achieve that. Actually, being an entrepreneur might be the most challenging path to get there; at least it is the most troublesome. But, perhaps, it is the most interesting. From the company's point of view, success is straightforward: it is to be financially sustainable - but sustainable at other levels as well; be ethically viable, sustainable in the way it treats people and clients, and so on. This is the only way financial sustainability makes sense.

 

If we transpose that to a context of a particular Asian country, where Buddhist culture prevails, doing business unethically will bring bad karma. That will affect you in the long run.

 

I totally agree with that although I do not believe much in the topic of karma. We can always find ways to make more money... the next question is how will this help you and the society around you. Maybe, if you have more money, it would not make much difference for you, but for others, it would make a huge deal. Not treating people well will always be a short side approach and a shot in your own foot; you do not know when you will be that person, the one who will be mistreated. I believe more in this "kind of karma", in the sense that sooner or later, if you do not treat people well, there will be reciprocity, and you will end up being isolated. And you deserved it.

Who inspires you?

 

Many people inspire me in different ways. My father, for example, on issues such as resilience, business-wise and his ability to always “keep the wheel spinning”. In regards to expertise, I am inspired by Steve Blank in the area of marketing and sales. I find it phenomenal how he manages to translate and convey complex concepts in such simple ways. I'm also inspired by everyone who does a lot with minimal resources. I am inspired by the people who take on their time - which I think it is always the scarcer resource we have and manage to put it the service of the society. People who like and encourage volunteering, supporting others, are the ones who inspire me the most because they are using their most valuable coin, time and giving it for free to society. These are the most inspiring people.

 

Is there a book you would advise to start the wave of entrepreneurship?

 

Yes, I would recommend “Crossing the Chasm”, by Geoffrey Moore. I think everyone who is thinking about doing something has to read this book.

 

What was the failure that you most cherish, now looking back?

 

There was a situation in my life that I think it was the most complicated for me by the time I was in college. I wanted to study and be in the college at the same time. As a consequence, due to the lack of time, in the second year of college, I think I was not approved in any course. I went to London with the idea that it would be easier to reconcile the two things - and in fact, it is because the society’s openness for the ones that have a job while studying is far higher than in Portugal. In my first year in London I didn’t manage to enter in the course I wanted so I started thinking, "Will this (taking a course in the university) ever work for me? I had already been in Porto for two years, now I have to waste one year more... “ But, in the following year, I applied again and got accepted! However, I was always with that awful thought in my head "This never ends… I will not be able to finish this.". It was hard, not only due to the fact I was working and studying at the same time but also because of the freedom we get both from a city like London and the college itself. In Portugal, I was accustomed to having classes in a rigorous schedule, and then there I was, free to choose to do whatever I wanted. I could choose to attend the classes or not ... and I was not going.

It made you think...

 

I think when I was in the last year there were times when I did not believe I was going to finish. I made the whole movie in my head that I could not finish it, I couldn't do it… you know. The failures were all happening in cascade: to give up my Engineering course in Porto, then not knowing if I would enter in the course in London... There were stages when I was very distressed and could not walk forward. The day I received the last grade from the previous exam... it was one of the most magnificent reliefs of my life. I thought to myself, "It's over, I can do stuff now.." I was feeling a great deal of weight back then, the fact that I went to London after convincing my parents that I was going to move to London to take that course... It was too much at once, and I was feeling that weight over my shoulders, so I thought “what if I couldn't finish it, what was I doing there?”

 

Did you grow up with those moments in your life?

 

Without a doubt, I grew tremendously.

 

Now, imagine that you are in the future and you have two teleportation devices, for bidirectional travel. Where are you going to place them?

I would place one in Porto and another in London. I think I would be disillusioned because... London to me are the people I met, as in Porto. However, unlike Porto, in London people move a lot because it is a city in which the most normal thing to do is to get there, stay and work for a few years and then go away. Some of the people who are very important to me are still there, but there are also many people who are there anymore, just like me. They are already making their living in their home country or even in another one so ... Each of us has his/her reason to be in a place where he/she is. Anyway, I would continue to choose London because it is still a hub for me, a meeting place. I hope legislative changes due to Brexit will not affect our mobility to and from the UK... but I do think they will change, unfortunately. If they not change, it will still be an incredible place.

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.