Behind Business - 我很好奇这个过程导致你最终在​​这样一个艰难的市场中说“为什么不呢?”。你能解释一下你的思考过程是什么吗?


Nils - 嗯,这个过程涉及很长的个人故事,其中也包括葡萄牙;这不仅仅是产品的概念。所以,我不知道从哪里开始...

也许你可以从那个个人故事开始......

我们三年前在葡萄牙的一家饮料公司的想法,但在到达那里之前...... 2013年,我和我的妻子从工作中抽出时间去旅行。我们在世界各地旅行了六个月。回到柏林后,我们的头脑中种下了希望生活在国外的种子。虽然我们爱柏林,但我们感觉不再完全在家了。因此,在我们的第一个女儿出生后,我们在2016年再次休假,在葡萄牙度过了一段时间。我们以前来过这里好几次,我们热爱这个国家和人民。实际上,我们作为情侣的第一个假期 - 必须是2010年 - 去了葡萄牙...当时我们也偶然发现了埃里塞拉。所以我们选择在2016年再次来到葡萄牙与我们的女儿共度美好时光。我们决定住在里斯本和埃里塞拉。我们喜欢它,很快我们就意识到葡萄牙现在是我们的最佳选择,我们决定真正前往这里。

埃里塞拉是另一个改变你生活的触发器吗?

我们肯定爱上了埃里塞拉;这是一个可爱的地方 - 特别是对于有两个小孩的家庭。就在那里,我们遇到了我们的合作伙伴亨德里克。他也是德国人,和他的家人一起住在埃里塞拉。有趣的事实:他们之前也住在柏林,我们住在同一个街区!我们基本上是邻居,彼此相隔只有200米,但我们以前从未见过面!...我们只在埃里塞拉见过这里。

Why Not?

“我相信每个人都有才能,但社会往往难以展现他们。”

Behind Business - 如今的创业活动有这样一个突出的趋势,从外部看来,它被看作是一个“有魅力的职业”。 你认为成为一名企业家确实有一定的魅力吗?

有时我会说我们的业务!这可能听起来有点精神,但我喜欢它!所以,我们成了亲密的朋友,因为我们都喜欢做事,所以我们开始共同发展思想。最初,我们有一个旅游项目的想法,但与此同时,我们不想像许多外国人那样做同样的事情。所以我们认为它应该是不同的东西。这个想法诞生了,因为我们觉得葡萄牙这里缺少一些东西,我们都很喜欢。我们一直是苏打爱好者。但是我们在商店和咖啡馆里找不到好的,生产过的 - 只有自制的,但不是瓶子里的茶点。我们发现只有大品牌的人造成分,没有独立品牌,使用更好的成分或提供一些多样性。所以我们开始想知道为什么?为什么一个一直有美味水果的南欧国家没有这样的产品?

与此同时,我们不得不在2016年底回到德国。回到德国,我们巩固了这个想法。在过去的15年里,德国饮料市场发生了重大转变;直到2000年初,只有大型知名品牌 - 就是这样。然后,从2000年开始,越来越多的独立饮料品牌开始出现。其中一些将有机饮料带入市场。因此,大品牌开始失去一些市场份额。考虑到这一发展,我们告诉自己,“为什么不”在葡萄牙做类似的事情并为葡萄牙带来一些变化。所以我们决定在葡萄牙生产有机工艺汽水。

我们在德国工作了一年,节省了尽可能多的钱,为我们的品牌开发了原味,为什么不用苏打水:LEMON'MATE。在2017年底,我们准备了食谱,我 - 仍然在德国 - 开始找到一个可以在葡萄牙为我们装瓶的合作伙伴。与此同时,我的妻子又怀孕了。

那又怎样?

因此,有一个两岁的小孩和另一个刚刚出生的婴儿,我们将所有物品装进一辆大卡车并搬到了葡萄牙。现在,我谈到那个时候,听起来真的很累 - 从那时起它已经筋疲力尽,但也很有趣。

您是否考虑过产品的整体概念以及您之前想要的公司价值观?那个时候你有没有想过它?

我们对自己说,如果我们要在食品和饮料行业做些什么,它应该更健康,但仍然美味。它必须是有机的,并纳入可持续的实践。你不能使用人造香料和其他人造成分创造另一家公司 - 这是2019年而不是1990年。因此,我们知道我们想从一开始就是有机的。因此,我们必须在整个供应链中寻找经过认证的有机生产商和其他认证合作伙伴,他们拥有相同的价值观。我们在葡萄牙农业部网站上的生物生产商名单中找到了我们的生产商/装瓶合作伙伴:Cerveja Vadia。这些人是精酿啤酒生产商,他们的产品组合中也有一种经过认证的有机啤酒。我是用可怜的葡萄牙语写的,但是他们非常开放和友好。他们从一开始就是这样的。他们支持我们很多。

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-56_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-56_edited

Family Walking On the Beach

Family Walking On the Beach

Lemon Zest

Lemon Zest

Lemon Tree

Lemon Tree

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-28_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-28_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-42

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-42

Add a Title

Add a Title

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-67

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-67

Green Juice Prep

Green Juice Prep

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-119

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-119

Family Walking On the Beach

Family Walking On the Beach

Artful Table Arrangement

Artful Table Arrangement

Pregnant Woman in Nature

Pregnant Woman in Nature

Lemon Tree

Lemon Tree

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-150

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-150

Stuffed Animals

Stuffed Animals

Wild Flowers

Wild Flowers

Add a Title

Add a Title

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-98_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-98_edited

Lemon Leaf

Lemon Leaf

如何与葡萄牙人合作?

当我们在2016年来到这里时,有些人告诉我在某些情况下的困难,也因为语言。但是从一开始,我就试着用葡萄牙语写作,我参加了许多葡萄牙语课程,以便能够尽快发言。我努力尽快学习这门语言,因为德语和葡萄牙语真的不同,所以这并不容易。我与业务合作伙伴的经历非常出色。我开始轰炸Cerveja Vadia的人员,询问有关可能的生产问题。我做了我的研究,知道我在说什么,但当然,我没有任何生产饮料的经验。 Cerveja Vadia也没有使用软饮料的经验,但他们了解需要做的事情 - 最重要的是 - 它应该可以在他们的啤酒厂中实现。

你是不是害怕在整个过程中被复制?

 

 

不,例如来自Cerveja Vadia 的人总是很有帮助。他们是真诚而冷静的人;我们决定我们会这样做,互相握手并为之奋斗。有时这是个人感觉的问题。当然,我可能错了,但如果我相信,我相信。但是,让我说一下一般情况:我认为在一天结束时分享你所知道的总是更好。当你愿意给予时,你会得到,即使它不是来自那个人。例如,在Startup Lisboa 的企业家计划 “From Start to Table” 中,我们收到了来自同一计划的其他企业家的许多有用建议 - 因为他们了解国家,有时甚至是市场。所以我从他们身上得到了很多,虽然我愿意分享,但那一刻我没有什么可以回馈给他们的。但我知道有时候我可以帮助他们。但是,当你付出时,不仅仅是这种经济计算。我相信你应该认为每个人都值得帮助和友好。作为哲学的前学生,我相信康德和绝对的命令。在一天结束时,你必须在镜子里看自己,看看你是谁。你必须处理你做的事情。如果有人从你那里窃取了你的想法,那么这个人在他或她的镜子里的形象就会出现问题。我没有遇到问题。事实上,我对它很满意。简而言之:分享是我的理念,我不会改变它。但当然,我们有安全,签订合同,保密协议和所有这些。

您认为您之前的经历在您的创业企业中扮演了什么角色?

我们思考和行动,组织自己,与人交谈,就是这样。我认为我们之前也做过大部分这些事情,但我们在饮料市场上没有任何经验。例如,我学习了政治科学和哲学。然后,我开始担任慈善机构对非营利部门初创企业的社会影响的分析师。后来,我成为了一个仍然在非营利部门的更杰出基金会的项目经理。目标是赋予年轻人参与政治和社会的权力。人权赋予和参与一直是我的主题。我相信每个人都有才能,但社会往往难以展现他们。在搬到这里之前,我曾在一家全球运营的大型运输和物流公司工作。我在一个部门工作,基本上是一个内部智囊团,靠近人力资源委员会成员。该部门负责企业文化/组织发展。

那不是你想要的职业道路吗?

一个人对这样一家大公司的影响接近于零。所以我开始变得非常沮丧。我需要不同的东西,在那里我会看到我有所作为。我觉得我能做的比我做的更多。我也厌倦了为别人的成功而努力。因此,结合我在社会影响,创新和组织发展领域的经验以及作为一个有趣的人的个人特征,我对自己说:“我想创造一种可持续的,冷静的,快乐的产品。”

您如何看待消费者在10年内塑造社会的趋势?消费者是否已经在推动拥有天然产品?

哼哼......在我对政治科学的研究中,我了解到有很多自变量会影响事物的发展。许多人说有机是趋势,在未来,每个人都会关心他们消费的东西,因为我们都会更有意识等等。但事实是,这也取决于人们口袋里有多少钱。而且我不知道一般来说经济发展会如何。我知道的一件事是:遗憾的是,大规模生产总是更便宜,但过去的“大规模”往往会损害环境和社会 - 所谓的经济外部性,这些并不是真正包含在价格中,我们在货架上看到了。如果是这样,当地的生物制品可能真的具有竞争力。不幸的是,我们倾向于发现或理解许多企业的外部性是什么。

是否需要重新考虑定价的方式?

 

 

在我看来,产品的价格应该包括外部成本,例如,产品对我们的健康的影响以及我们医疗保健系统的负担。同样重要的是对环境的影响。当然,在税收方面有一些方法,葡萄牙实际上正在应用糖税的有趣措施。我们必须支付糖税,因为我们的产品含有糖。我不希望人们整天喝我们的饮料。加糖的软饮料并不适合这种情况。我相信我们不应该停止食糖。我们享受了一些东西,但我们应该更加合理。这就是为什么我们试图在饮料中保持尽可能低的糖含量,以及我们使用的糖量,我们认为我们必须缴纳糖税是好的。

它需要有机吗?

 

如果您创建产品,您应该考虑可持续性。获得生物认证只是第一步,但我们想要更多。超越它是因为它带来的运营成本变得更难。

作为企业家的概念有很多与之相关的风险。你如何处理不确定性?

作为两个孩子的父亲,处理缺乏安全问题可能会非常棘手。这是每天都有感情的过山车。有时候我们互相看好像是在说“谁有这个疯狂的想法在国外创造一种软饮料和一个全新的市场?”但你必须相信你所做的事情,因为如果你不这样做, 没人做到。我认为我们所做的事情有一个市场。极端的事情就是我们正试图在葡萄牙创造一个尚未创建的市场。当然,我觉得我在某种程度上在德国有一个安全网,从某种意义上说,我认为我可以在那里找到一份工作。这有点让我放松。但我现在不想住在德国。我们搬到这里因为我们确实想住在这里,真实。

要准备好受苦。我在开玩笑,但这句话肯定有道理:如果这很容易,那么每个人都会这样做。准备好度过艰难的时刻。如果你像我一样是一个反思的人,那就准备好迎接一个真正的过山车,因为作为一个企业家每天都会挑战你。你需要做一些你可能认为没有能力的事情。你将被多次拒绝,所以你必须处理它。我认为你不应该庆祝每一个微小的成功,同时不要对每一次失败都反应过度。你需要找到你的心理平衡。作为一名企业家并不知道该做什么;这不像是一个有效的策略。当然,您应该遵循一个计划,但您也应该非常快速地了解哪些有效,哪些无效,快速更改计划和快速执行。一个关键的学习:在一个企业的开始,如果你有一个好主意,很多机会展开。当然,你应该乐于使用这些机会,但是当你忙于跟随你在不同场合提供的机会时,你会失去焦点,而你正在离开驾驶座。但这就是你在成为一名企业家时想要的,对吧......坐在驾驶座上......所以不要离开它。我们也必须学习这一点。

对于想要像你一样做某事的人,你的第一个建议是什么?您是否想成为一名企业家?

您的品牌是否反映了您的身份和价值观?这与瓶子里的艺术设计有什么关系?

许多产品设计仍然专注于简约的东西,但我们相信产品应该很有趣,一切都不应该被认真对待。这就是我们选择这种街头艺术设计的原因。我们的第三个团队成员对下一件事有着极好的美学想象力。我们认为极简主义被高估了。这就是为什么我们的“东西”如此丰富多彩。实际上,我个人并不认为人类是极简主义的。看看我们,我们是多姿多彩的,我们很奇怪,我们是多元化的,我们很难得到。我们的标签也是如此。

您是否认为让您的妻子作为商业伙伴可以帮助您茁壮成长并每天推动自己越来越多?

 

 

当然,她帮助我进一步推进。拥有一个信任你,驱使你并希望你成功和快乐的人,是非常有帮助的。在我的生命中,让我的妻子作为商业伙伴,可以更轻松地在商业,儿童和伙伴关系之间共同生活。人们可能会认为在这个年轻的时候建立一个有孩子的公司是非常疯狂的,但是人们没有意识到,当两个合作伙伴想要有趣时,组织“正常”的工作生活也是极具挑战性的。 ,挑战工作。大多数时候,其中一个合伙人必须待在家里,或者家人必须参与其中。我们这里没有这种支持,但我们现在是自己的老板,我们可以围绕它组织我们的生活。

你能描述一个典型的工作日吗?

我们将孩子们留在幼儿园上午9点,然后我们去里斯本直到下午4点才开始销售,除非我们其中一个人去阿尔加维或波尔图,例如...在我们去的地方或中间的销售会谈中我们做后续电话,解决生产或物流问题,创建营销材料,创建社交媒体帖子,制定策略。这意味着,我们不吃真正的午餐 - 我们推推推,然后当我们开车回埃里塞拉时,我们再次打电话,从下午5点到晚上8点或9点,我们试着不谈工作,因为我们想要为我们的孩子出席。当然,有时候这很难,因为新事物不断发生。然后,从9点到午夜,我们工作。这就是我们目前的生活。不幸的是,我们需要这些晚上,我们无法摆脱它们。

关注我们!

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

网站已对移动设备中的Safari和Chrome网络浏览器进行了优化。

Behind Business - I’m curious about the process that led you to end up saying “why not?” in such a tough market. Could you explain what your thought process was?

 

Nils - Well, there is a long personal story involved in this process, which includes Portugal as well; it was not just the idea of the product. So, I do not know where to start…

 

Maybe you could start with that personal story...

 

The idea for a beverage company here in Portugal we had three years ago, but before getting there… In 2013 my wife and I took time off from work to travel. We travelled around the world for six months. After coming back to Berlin, the seed of wishing to live abroad was planted in our heads. Although we love Berlin, we didn’t feel entirely at home anymore. So we took another time off from work in 2016 after our first daughter was born to spend some time in Portugal. We had been here several times before and we loved the country and the people. Actually, our first holiday as a couple - must have been 2010 -  was to Portugal... It was back then when we also discovered Ericeira more or less by accident. So we chose to come to Portugal again in 2016 to spend some quality time with our daughter. We decided to live in Lisbon and in Ericeira. We loved it, and soon we realised that Portugal was the place to be for us right now and we decided to move here for real.

Was Ericeira another trigger that changed your life?

 

We fell in love with Ericeira, for sure; it’s a lovely place - especially for a family with two little children. And it was there where we met our partner, Hendrik. He’s also German and has been living in Ericeira with his family for a while. Funny fact: They also lived in Berlin before, and we lived in the same neighbourhood!. We were basically neighbours, living just 200 meters apart from each other, but we had never met before!... We only met here in Ericeira.

Why Not?

"I believe that everyone has talent, but often society makes it difficult to unfold them."

Does it feel like it was destiny?

 

Sometimes I say that about our business! It may sound a bit spiritual, but I like it! So, we became close friends, and because we all love to do things, we started to develop ideas together. Initially, we had an idea for a touristic project, but at the same time, we didn’t want to do the same things as many foreigners do here. So we thought it should be something different. The idea was born because we felt that something was missing here in Portugal, which we all like a lot. We have always been soda lovers. But we couldn’t find good, produced ones here in the shops and cafes - only the homemade ones, but not the refreshments straight from the bottle. What we found were only the big brands with their artificial ingredients, no independent brands, which use better ingredients or offer some diversity. So we started wondering why? Why does a southern European country, which has delicious fruits available all the time, does not have products like these?

 

In the meantime, we had to go back to Germany at the end of 2016. Back in Germany, we consolidated the idea. In the last 15 years, there has been a significant shift in the beverage market in Germany; until the beginning of 2000 there were only the big well-known brands as well - and that was it. Then, from 2000 onwards, more and more independent beverage brands began to appear. Some of them brought organic-based beverages to the market. So the big brands started to lose some market share. Having this development in mind, we told ourselves, “why not” do something similar here in Portugal and bring some variety to Portugal. So we decided to produce organic craft soda in Portugal.

We worked for one more year in Germany, saved as much money as we could and developed the original flavour for our brand why not soda: LEMON’MATE. At the end of 2017, we had the recipe ready and I - still in Germany - started to find a partner who could bottle the drinks for us in Portugal. Meanwhile, my wife got pregnant again.

Then what?

So, with a little child of two years and another baby that had just been born, we packed all our belongings into a big truck and moved to Portugal. Now, that I talk about that time, it sounds really exhausting - and it has been exhausting since then, but also a lot of fun.

Did you think about the whole concept of the product and the values you wanted for your company way before? Did you think about it at that moment?

 

We said to ourselves, that if we are going to do something in the food and beverage industry, it should be healthier, but still tasty. It definitely has to be organic and incorporate sustainable practices. You cannot create another company using artificial flavouring and other artificial ingredients - this is 2019 and not 1990. Thus, we knew we wanted to be organic from the beginning. So we had to search for certified organic producers and other certified partners in the whole supply chain, who share the same values. Our producers/bottling partners I found on a list of biological producers on the Portuguese Ministry of Agriculture’s website: Cerveja Vadia. The guys are craft beer producers and also have one certified organic beer in their portfolio. I wrote them in my poor Portuguese, but they were super open and friendly. They have been like that from the very beginning. They support us a lot.

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-56_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-56_edited

Family Walking On the Beach

Family Walking On the Beach

Lemon Zest

Lemon Zest

Lemon Tree

Lemon Tree

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-28_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-28_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-42

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-42

Add a Title

Add a Title

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-67

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-67

Green Juice Prep

Green Juice Prep

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-119

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-119

Family Walking On the Beach

Family Walking On the Beach

Artful Table Arrangement

Artful Table Arrangement

Pregnant Woman in Nature

Pregnant Woman in Nature

Lemon Tree

Lemon Tree

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-150

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-150

Stuffed Animals

Stuffed Animals

Wild Flowers

Wild Flowers

Add a Title

Add a Title

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-98_edited

Lemon_Mate_©_Andreia_Mayer-98_edited

Lemon Leaf

Lemon Leaf

How was it to work with the Portuguese people?

 

When we were here in 2016, some people told me about difficulties in some contexts and also because of the language. But since the beginning, I tried to write in Portuguese, and I took many Portuguese lessons to be able to speak as soon as possible. I made an effort to learn the language as fast as possible, which is not so easy since German and Portuguese are really different. My experiences with our business partners are outstanding. I started to bombard the guys from Cerveja Vadia with questions about the possible production. I did my research and knew what I was talking about, but of course, I did not have any experience in producing beverages. Cerveja Vadia also had no experience with soft drinks, but they understood what needed to be done and - most important - that it should be possible in their brewery.

Weren't you afraid of being copied throughout the process?

No. The guys from Cerveja Vadia for instance were always really helpful. They were sincere and cool people; we decided that we would do it, shook each other’s hand and went for it. Sometimes it’s a matter of personal feeling. Of course, I might be wrong, but if I trust, I trust. But let me say something in general: I think that at the end of the day sharing what you know is always better. When you are willing to give, you will receive, even if it is not from that person. For instance, at the entrepreneurs-program “From Start to Table” by Startup Lisboa, we received so many useful advices from other entrepreneurs, who were in the same program - because they knew the country and sometimes the market. So I got a lot from them and, although I was willing to share, at that moment I had nothing to give back to them. But I know that there will be moments when I can help them. But it is not just this economic calculation, that you receive when you give. I believe that you should consider every person to be worthy of help and friendliness. As a former student of philosophy, I believe in Kant and the categorical imperative. At the end of the day, you have to watch yourself in the mirror and see the kind of person you are. You got to deal with the things you do. If someone steals ideas from you, that person has a problem with his or her image in his or her mirror. I do not have a problem with mine. In fact, I am quite ok with it. So in short: sharing is my philosophy, and I won’t change it. But of course, we have security, signed contracts, confidentiality agreements and all those things.

What role do you think your previous experience has played in your entrepreneurial venture?

 

We think and act, organise ourselves, talk to people, that’s it. I think most of these things we have also done before, but we did not have any experience in the beverage market. For example, I studied Political Sciences and Philosophy. Then I started working as an analyst for the social impact of charities for a start-up in the nonprofit sector. Later I became a project manager in a more prominent foundation still in the nonprofit sector. The goal was to empower young people to participate in politics and society. Human empowerment and participation have always been my topic. I believe that everyone has talent, but often society makes it difficult to unfold them. Before moving here, I worked in a worldwide operating big transport and logistics company. I worked in a department, basically an internal think tank, close to the Member of the Board for Human Resources. This department was responsible for the corporate culture/organisational development.

Wasn’t that a career path you wanted?  

 

One’s impact on such a big company is close to zero. So I started to get really frustrated. I needed something different, where I would see that I make a difference. I had the feeling that I could do more than what I was doing. And I was also getting tired of just working for the success of other people. So, combining my experiences in the field of social impact, innovation and organisational development as well as my personal characteristics as a fun-loving person, I said to myself: “I want to create a somehow sustainable, cool, joyful product.”

How do you see the consumer's trends shaping society in 10 years? Are the consumers already pushing for having natural based products?

Humm…in my studies of political sciences I learned that there are many independent variables, which affect how things are developing. Many people say that organic is the trend and in the future, everyone will care about what they consume because we will all be more conscious and so on. But, the truth is that it also depends on how much money people have in their pockets. And I don’t know how the economic development, in general, will be. One thing I know is: unfortunately, it’s always cheaper to produce at a big scale, but “big scale” in the past often harmed the environment and society - the so-called economic externalities, and these are not really included in the prices, which we see in the shelves. If they were, local biological products might be really competitive. Unfortunately, we tend to find out or understand much too late what the externalities of many businesses are.

Would it be needed to rethink the way the pricing is done?

 

In my opinion prices for products should include the costs of their externalities, which for instance, would consist of the impact a product has on our health and in that regard the burden for our healthcare system. The same counts for the impact on the environment. There are approaches in terms of taxes of course, and Portugal is actually applying an interesting measure with the sugar tax. We have to pay sugar tax because our products contain sugar. I don’t want people to drink our beverages all day long. Soft drinks with sugar are not meant to be for that. I believe that we should not stop to consume sugar. We got to enjoy some things, but we should be more reasonable about them. That is why we try to keep the amount of sugar as low as possible in our drinks, and for the amount of sugar we use, we think that it is good that we have to pay a sugar tax.

Does it need to be organic?

 

If you create a product, you should think about being sustainable. Being biologically certified is only the first step, but we want more. Going beyond that is when it becomes harder because of the operational costs that come with it.

The concept of being an entrepreneur has a lot of risks associated with it. How do you deal with uncertainty?

Being a father of two children, dealing with the lack of security can be tricky. It’s a roller coaster of feelings every day. Sometimes we look to each other as if we were saying “Who had this crazy idea to create a soft drink and a completely new market in a foreign country?” But you have to believe in what you do because if you don’t do it, no one does. And I think there is a market for what we do. The extreme thing is just that we are trying to create a market in Portugal that has not been created yet. Of course, I feel like I have a safety net back in Germany somehow, in the sense that I suppose that I could find a job there. That’s something that relaxes me sometimes. But I don’t want to live in Germany at the moment. We moved here because we do want to live here, for real.

Be prepared to suffer. I am kidding, but there is definitely truth in this sentence: If it were easy, everyone would do it. Be prepared to have really tough moments. And if you are a reflective person as I am, be prepared for a real roller coaster, because being an entrepreneur will challenge you every day. You will need to do things, that you might have thought of not being capable of. You are going to be rejected many many times, so you have to deal with it. I think you should not celebrate every tiny success and at the same time not overreact on every loss. You will need to find your mental balance. Being an entrepreneur is not knowing what to do all the time; it’s not like having a strategy that works all the time. You should follow a plan, of course, but you should also be very fast in understanding what works and what doesn’t, fast in changing plans and quick in execution. One key learning: at the beginning of a business, if you had a good idea, many opportunities unfold. Of course, you should be open to using these opportunities, but when you are just busy following the opportunities you are offered in different occasions, you lose focus, and you are leaving the driver’s seat. But that is what you wanted when becoming an entrepreneur, right...sitting in the driver’s seat...so don’t leave it. We had to learn this as well.

What would be your first advice to someone who wants to do something like you did? Any learnings from being an entrepreneur you would like to share?

Does your brand reflect who you are and your values? How is that connected with the art design in the bottle?

A lot of product design is still focused on minimalistic stuff, but we believe that a product should be fun, that everything should not be taken so seriously. That is why we chose this street art-like design. Our third team member has a great aesthetic imagination of what will be the next thing. And we believe that Minimalism is overrated. That is why our “thing” is so colourful. Actually, I personally do not believe that humans are minimalist. Look at us, we are colourful, we are strange, we are diverse, we are tough to get. Same counts for our label.

Do you think having your wife as a business partner helps you to thrive and to push yourself more and more every day?

Of course, she helps me to push further all the time. Having someone who trusts you and who drives you and want you to succeed and to be happy, is something super helpful. Having my wife as a business partner at this point in my life makes it easier to organise our living together between business, children and partnership as well. People might think that it is super crazy to set up a company with children at this young age, but what people do not realise is that it would also be super-challenging to organise “normal” work lives, when both partners want to have interesting, challenging jobs. Most of the time one of the partners has to stay home, or the family has to get involved. We do not have this support here, but we are now the bosses of ourselves, and we can organise our lives around it.

Can you describe a typical day at work?

We leave the children at the kindergarten at 9am, and then we go to Lisbon to make sales until 4 pm, unless one of us goes to Algarve or Porto, for instance... on our way there or in-between sales-talks we do follow-up phone calls, solve production or logistics issues, create marketing material, create Social Media postings, work on the strategy. That means, we do not eat a real lunch - we push push push, and when we then drive back to Ericeira, we make some calls again, and from 5 pm to 8 or 9 pm, we try to not speak about work, because we want to be present for our kids. Of course, that is tough sometimes, as new things happen continually. And then, from 9 to midnight, we work. This is the life we have at the moment. We, unfortunately, need these evenings, we cannot escape from them.

What I mentioned before about looking at yourself in the mirror and saying “This is cool for me, I’m happy”, I could not look at the mirror if my kids would be unhappy. But they love it to live here. So our happiness here forces me to try to make this thing work.

follow US

Behind Business Logo Gray-White
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

Website optimized for Safari and Chrome web browsers in mobile devices.